See other Kota Kinabalu properties

Masada Backpacker

1st Floor, No.9, Jalan Masjid Lama, Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 94% from 11 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 98%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I spent 3 nights there, the atmosphere was great and the staff working there were helpful as well. You can ask them any information about Kota Kinabalu. The experience there was really awesome and I would like to come back again.
  • 100%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • I stayed a dorm. Hostel provided a small locker and a space to storage big backpack / luggage to each person in the room. The shower rooms and toilets are cleanliness. Good water supplier and hot shower. The staffs are nice and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • A very clean and nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Nothing to complain about really, except maybe that it's a bit of a walk to the waterfront and similar places of interest. Not a big problem though. Free breakfast all day is a great bonus :) Decided to stay there again on my second round in Kota Kinabalu.
  • 91%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Andrea Sweden
  • It is quite good. Most staffs are excellent. Quite clean
  • 97%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • nice staffs, home feeling
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very well managed and clean. Good location. I will stay here again in the future.
  • 94%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The only things i didn't like about this hostel were them allowing huge Chinese families to rent out half of the place. As well as the people who stayed there weren't very... social. but i made it work! so I guess this isn't their fault!.... but being a hostel you would think they only allow certain age groups.... not 6yo children.
  • 94%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely wonderful. Stayed there one night, kept stuff in their locker for a few days, and they let me shower and use their wifi when I came back, even though I was no longer paying to stay there. Great staff, great location
  • 100%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great stay! Nice breakfast Friendly staff
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »