See other Budapest properties

Maverick Hostel & Ensuites

Ferencziek tere 2., Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 90% from 15 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not worth staying. Everything is so old that even stinks. However, staff is nice.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the review. We are very sad to hear that you didn't like our building, which is a royal mansion was built by the Habsburgs in 1905. So it surely has age, but it is fully renovated from inside and cleaned daily, but we will try to increase the cleaning even further. Sorry for the miscomfort.

  • 51%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Anonymous Armenia
  • The hostel is in a great location, nice room and a walking distance to the main attractions.
  • 94%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I won't miss the place next time!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jan 2014 KE China
  • Great spot and staff. Had some issues with wifi and the bathroom but they were able to fix it after a few hours. More for traveling in a group, not a party or much of a social solo traveler spot to be.
  • 94%
  • 02 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great location right next to public transport stations, quite central. Fancy building with high rooms and clean renewed bathrooms. Bed could have been a bit more comfortable and it was very hot in August. Next to a busy street so during summertime (windows open) you should look for other options if you are a bad sleeper. Some spider webs on the ceilings but otherwise very tidy. A bit on the more expensive side but still great value all things considered!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the recommendation, we are very happy, that your overall expression was positive about Maverick. We are going to pay more attention on removing webs to improve our cleanliness.

  • 91%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Teemu Finland
  • Its situated at a great location. The staff is great and so is the atmosphere. The only issue we faced was that we got an apartment on the 5th floor and there was no elevator, so it was quite a task. Another problem was the lack of AC or a fan. It was quite hot in budapest in august and an AC or at least a fan is essential. Apart from that its a great hostel. Probably the best in budapest.
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate your recommendation a lot. We are sorry about the lack of fans that time. We had a bit of a shortage, but we have bought some extra quantity since. See you next time!

  • 83%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Anonymous India
  • The best hostel ever super friendly staff ...amazing room mates I even stayed on privat room no complaints Will deffinelty go again Thx cheers pink
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2013 suchita Belgium
  • Except the loud construction directly in front of the building everything was fine. The hostel is a very nice place to stay. Very clean and the staff is very friendly. Not far from the hostel are two metro stations and the river. When I come back to Budapest I'm going to stay there again!
  • 91%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Corinna Germany
  • If you want a quiet place to stay in Budapest, then stay here. The stay is great and are willing to help you out. There are two different floors and I was on the second floor. Overall it was a great stay.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »