See other Istanbul properties

Mavi Guesthouse

Ishakpasa Cad., Kutlugun Sok. No:3, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 70% from 15 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really smelly hostel that I ever visited !
  • 46%
  • 18 Jul 2013 Anonymous
  • This hostel is in a great location and the staff are amazing! Thank you Ali, Ahmet and the rest of the staff for making our stay so great! The atmosphere is laid back and fun, and they organize a great pub crawl. It is a small cosy hostel in Sultanahmet, steps to the blue mosque, haggia sophia and topkapi palace. The staff are so helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will def be back! Thank you Ali and Ahmet!
  • 94%
  • 30 Jun 2013 Samantha Canada
  • The hostel has a great owner who gladly arranged both boat and bus ticket for us. Very warm and welcoming, and helpful. The atmosphere at the place was good, with people sitting and talking outside all day and night. No problem with noises, except for the fan in our room which was really noisy! Otherwise a nice hostel with a super location.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Anonymous Norway
  • The staff was kınd and helpful and the hostel ıs located rıght next to Aya Sofıa and Topkapı Palace, but the dorm was really full of people and beds and my bed had not been cleaned before I came. Of course ıt ıs quıte cheap, so ıt depends on the level of cleanlıness and comfort you expect to get from a hostel, but I stayed there just one nıght and then moved to another place.
  • 69%
  • 20 Jun 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • The worse hostel I've ever stayed!
  • 57%
  • 19 Jun 2013 Kuanysh Kazakhstan
  • bathroom and rooms always dirty. The worst thing is that I wake up with a lot of bites of some bug that was in my bed, it looked really terrible and only one person from the hostel seemed worried, but the only thing that they did was to tell me to change the room and go to another bed in the dorms with 24 beds and I had pay for one with 8 people. They didn't give my money back and I had to spend money with medicines. I usually stay in cheap hostels, but this one was terrible.
  • 49%
  • 16 Jun 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • All the staff members are friendly and very helpful. They always hep you get any information related to Istanbul. All the common area are cleaned well. The only thing that could be improved would be the space and air conditions in some rooms. The location is probably one of the best in Istanbul! Very close to major spots and quite safe area.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Keiko Japan
  • This was truly one of the best places I've stayed in all my travels around the world!!! If it was not for my wonderful experience here I may not have fallen as in love with the amazing city that is Istanbul as I did. First off, the place is owned by Ali, who is one of the nicest and most helpful people you ill meet and pretty much answers any questions one may have. He is laid back and super friendly and caring of all his guests, as well as staff. Location is central to all attractions. Perfect
  • 100%
  • 27 May 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, but the facilities were a bit dirty. However, the helpful staff and the friendly atmosphere made up for all of that.
  • 69%
  • 25 May 2013 Anonymous Bosnia And Herzegovina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »