See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 79% from 59 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good value for the money. Only problem was the showers have to be pushed to keep the water going. Staff was great!
  • 86%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location just off o Connell street. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay there again!
  • 91%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Awesome kitchen, nice lockers, big rooms, however the staff wasn't very friendly, the showers were one tempature that you had to hold or it would turn off, there were a lot of stairs and no lift. They also made you update your key card everyday after 10am and if you forgot you had to walk down a million stairs to get back to the reception.
  • 69%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My favourite hostel in Dublin. Never any issues.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • It was a good place to stay, friendly staff, free wifi, and a short walking distance from the pubs and restaurants.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anthony USA
  • Two out of the three times that I stayed here I was woken up in the middle of the night by a strange person screaming outside. Bring your ear plugs.
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Just one thing about the staff, while they were excellent at the reception area, they were very helpful and friendly. The only thing that put me off was the next morning when we went for breakfast, the 'cook' was very rude, she looked at me like I had 12 heads when I asked for the water when she had literary just picked it up and put it in the fridge, she looked at it and said "no, you must use the kitchen" I mean she had just literary put it back, she looked at it in the fridge...
  • 91%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • My husband and I stayed in a private double room here during our budget honeymoon. The room was pretty large and clean, but contained two twin-sized beds instead of one larger bed like all of our other stays had included. It was private and quiet with a decent shared bathroom, but the location was a little far from most of the attractions/areas we wanted - though we were still able to walk. It was not bad, but just pretty average all around.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I really had a pleasant stay at MEC Hostel. A quiet and friendly place, with nice and helpful staff and most of the facilities you'll need (only the laundry is missing); it might feel a bit "old", but it's clean enough and have a greater value than I expected, considering the price. In a few days, it'll feel like home
  • 77%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Our six- bed room was very big and we had a lot of space there. There were also lockers available inside the room, but you had to bring your own lock to secure your things. There was a bathroom in the room which was very comfortable. The location was very good and we could reach every sight of Dublin by foot. Breakfast isn't included but you could book it for 2€ per person.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Jule Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »