See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 79% from 57 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • staff excellent. Friendly excellent. Quiet location for a good sleep. bed comfy. Room was spacious despite 16 beds in room and lockers were a great help with storage. Asked for bottom bunk got it no problem, Breakfast at 2e was ok but got free elsewhere with better, They kept my luggage after i checked out free which was brilliant. They even offered to order a taxi for me thanks guys. 2 showers for crowd was a big rush queing. stairs are still a drag with a lot of luggage a lift needed
  • 80%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Anne Marie Ireland
  • Staff was verry friendly. Luggage storage was ok. Beds in dorm not that comfortable. I f you sleep on top and one underneath you moved, the whole bed moved.
  • 71%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Timothy Belgium
  • Not the cleanest hostel in the world and definitely not in Dublin, location is pretty inconvenient unless you're really looking to spend a lot of time on O'Connell Street. Some creepy dudes were hanging out at front at night and not the liveliest atmosphere for getting to know other people in the hostel, but the staff were pretty nice and it was a decent price.
  • 51%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely, cosy hostel. Nice people. Excellent location close to O'Connell Street. Quiet at night. No complains. If I should visit Dublin again I will most certainly stay in the same hostel.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous Belgium
  • Good value for the money. Only problem was the showers have to be pushed to keep the water going. Staff was great!
  • 86%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location just off o Connell street. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay there again!
  • 91%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Awesome kitchen, nice lockers, big rooms, however the staff wasn't very friendly, the showers were one tempature that you had to hold or it would turn off, there were a lot of stairs and no lift. They also made you update your key card everyday after 10am and if you forgot you had to walk down a million stairs to get back to the reception.
  • 69%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My favourite hostel in Dublin. Never any issues.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • It was a good place to stay, friendly staff, free wifi, and a short walking distance from the pubs and restaurants.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anthony USA
  • Two out of the three times that I stayed here I was woken up in the middle of the night by a strange person screaming outside. Bring your ear plugs.
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »