See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 55 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My stay was just perfect, the receptionist Vanja is very professionnal and polite, the best I have met so far in the whole island of Ireland and I visited many different hostels! I definitely recommend this place and this person.
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • Lovely place, we loved everything. Next time will stay just here. Thanks a lot.
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Galina Ireland
  • Clean bedrooms and bathrooms, nice breakfest, 24h reception, the lockers in the bedrooms make the guests feel confortable.
  • 94%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Isabel Brazil
  • Thank you very much for being nice to me. I really liked staying at your place.
  • 91%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Be prepared to walk up several flights of stairs with suitcase in hand. Oh and forget about anyone helping you. It probably won't happen. As well as the inconvenience if having to change your key card at 10am every morning. I understand it's for security purposes but it sucks when you have to use the toilet and you can't get back into your own room at any point past 10am. Other then those two point and the intimidating night receptionist. I had a good stay. It's a great way to meet new people
  • 63%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Riley
  • The hostel is very well organized.
  • 94%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • No hot water!
  • 86%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • good beds good location good staff baths are not good enough, but ok for the price
  • 66%
  • 14 Nov 2014 anna Spain
  • Hostel is situated near to the main shopping street, about a (max) 15 minute walk to Temple bar district. We needed to take the Luas to work every day at st. Stephens Green park, which was a little far (25 minutes walk). The hostel was fine, but not clean (i had dirty sheets and the bed itches..) for the use of lockers, bring your own small lock.
  • 66%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Melanie Netherlands
  • The location of the hostel is quiet good as its close to the city centre. The facilities are poor, good luck with using any of the kitchen utensils, pots and pans, most of the time it's completely filthy. The beds are somewhat comfortable, n lockers are available as long as you have a chunkey padlock. The bathrooms are atrocious and dirty with 5sec timer. We booked for 3 nights and left after 2nd night.
  • 43%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »