See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 57 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really had a pleasant stay at MEC Hostel. A quiet and friendly place, with nice and helpful staff and most of the facilities you'll need (only the laundry is missing); it might feel a bit "old", but it's clean enough and have a greater value than I expected, considering the price. In a few days, it'll feel like home
  • 77%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Our six- bed room was very big and we had a lot of space there. There were also lockers available inside the room, but you had to bring your own lock to secure your things. There was a bathroom in the room which was very comfortable. The location was very good and we could reach every sight of Dublin by foot. Breakfast isn't included but you could book it for 2€ per person.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Jule Germany
  • A very beautiful place. A little far from the bars and parties but not bad. Delicious breakfast. A lot of showers with hot water. I just did not like the beds, were always making noise when you move.
  • 77%
  • 09 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • My stay was just perfect, the receptionist Vanja is very professionnal and polite, the best I have met so far in the whole island of Ireland and I visited many different hostels! I definitely recommend this place and this person.
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • Lovely place, we loved everything. Next time will stay just here. Thanks a lot.
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Galina Ireland
  • Clean bedrooms and bathrooms, nice breakfest, 24h reception, the lockers in the bedrooms make the guests feel confortable.
  • 94%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Isabel Brazil
  • Thank you very much for being nice to me. I really liked staying at your place.
  • 91%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Be prepared to walk up several flights of stairs with suitcase in hand. Oh and forget about anyone helping you. It probably won't happen. As well as the inconvenience if having to change your key card at 10am every morning. I understand it's for security purposes but it sucks when you have to use the toilet and you can't get back into your own room at any point past 10am. Other then those two point and the intimidating night receptionist. I had a good stay. It's a great way to meet new people
  • 63%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Riley
  • The hostel is very well organized.
  • 94%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • No hot water!
  • 86%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »