See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 80% from 49 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I go to this hostel 3 years ago, the staff is great (Vanja, Igor...) but Vanja is gone now and instead, the unfriendly EDGAR will try to do his job! A lovely housekeeping lady tried to help him but he didn't want despite he terribly needs. After 10 minutes, he gave me bed in a dorm but all the beds were already taken, so I come down and he wanted to make me wait 10 more minutes in order to check-in a group arrived long after me! I had to insist to get my key... 1st time I see this in 3 years!
  • 86%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Anonymous France
  • Pros: helpful staff, location is excellent,toilets were average-rather clean though,breakfast was good value for 2e, there were good facilities in the kitchen (microwave, gas stove,fridge, table space...) Cons:no elevator, high staircase to rooms, walls are quite thin so i woke up at night 3am as some returned? from pubs/made noise, also steel Ikea beds make noise. Remember earplugs.There s no bed lights so if you return late from town, think the sleeping frens in dorm and pack a flash light too
  • 86%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Johanna Finland
  • The problem are toilets, not enough and far away from rooms, but the staff is excellent
  • 77%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Osmo Ilmari Finland
  • Accomodation: Very squeaky beds, booked a 4-bed dorm for my brother and me, in the end they jammed an extra bed in the room which turned it into a 5-dorm for our duration. Broken things (vending machine, showers). Showers were really nice and clean, everything was cleaned properly. Generally, OK hostel. Good location otherwise average hostel.
  • 66%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I was absolutely satisfied.
  • 97%
  • 15 Nov 2015 Zsofia Hungary
  • Bathroom on the floor, the room was clean. Breakfast for 2 Euro with no ham but toast bread, marmelade, gouda, cereals and milk or juice. James Joyce's house only a few houses away. You're in the city center. There is a hostel policy saying that you are only allowed to book maximum 7 nights per year!!! That's a pity but the other hostels will be happy to have you then!
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Georgiana Germany
  • Staying at this hostel was OK in general. But we booked 2 rooms in a 4-beds room so that my friend and myself could share the room with the less number of people possible. We were allocated in different rooms (4 beds each) and the manager said we booked only the beds, not 2 places in the same room. Never happened to us before and the guy at the reception was unable to manage bookings accordingly. Apart fron that, we enjoyed Dublin.
  • 60%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • We were six people, all together in the same room. It was spacious and clean, good beds, really good bathroom. 24 hours reception, friendly staff, all facilities to store the luggage on our last day. Good value for money, 10 minutes walk to Temple Bar through O'Connell Street, one of the main avenues of the city-
  • 91%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Miguel Spain
  • We had a huge double with table and chairs, sofa and chair plus a kitchenette and ensuite, such a surprise.
  • 89%
  • 14 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • You cannot pay with 100 eur banknotes and also you cannot pay separately for your booking.
  • 51%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're looking for the weirdest things to do in New Orleans, with the smallest price tag, here's where you'll find them.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »