See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 82% from 26 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall good impression, only the additional cost of € 2 was excessive for the content.
  • 60%
  • 28 Sep 2016 Anonymous Belgium
  • It looks way better in the pictures than what it really is, and way older too.
  • 69%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • Would happily stay here again if I go back to Dublin. Friendly staff, good size dorms, located on a nice street, good value breakfast, great common areas. Not a great ratio of showers to beds so queues at busy times, but that was the only slight negative - and for the price, can't really even complain about that.
  • 89%
  • 23 May 2016 Anonymous Scotland
  • I go to this hostel 3 years ago, the staff is great (Vanja, Igor...) but Vanja is gone now and instead, the unfriendly EDGAR will try to do his job! A lovely housekeeping lady tried to help him but he didn't want despite he terribly needs. After 10 minutes, he gave me bed in a dorm but all the beds were already taken, so I come down and he wanted to make me wait 10 more minutes in order to check-in a group arrived long after me! I had to insist to get my key... 1st time I see this in 3 years!
  • 86%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Anonymous France
  • Pros: helpful staff, location is excellent,toilets were average-rather clean though,breakfast was good value for 2e, there were good facilities in the kitchen (microwave, gas stove,fridge, table space...) Cons:no elevator, high staircase to rooms, walls are quite thin so i woke up at night 3am as some returned? from pubs/made noise, also steel Ikea beds make noise. Remember earplugs.There s no bed lights so if you return late from town, think the sleeping frens in dorm and pack a flash light too
  • 86%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Johanna Finland
  • The problem are toilets, not enough and far away from rooms, but the staff is excellent
  • 77%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Osmo Ilmari Finland
  • Accomodation: Very squeaky beds, booked a 4-bed dorm for my brother and me, in the end they jammed an extra bed in the room which turned it into a 5-dorm for our duration. Broken things (vending machine, showers). Showers were really nice and clean, everything was cleaned properly. Generally, OK hostel. Good location otherwise average hostel.
  • 66%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I was absolutely satisfied.
  • 97%
  • 15 Nov 2015 Zsofia Hungary
  • Bathroom on the floor, the room was clean. Breakfast for 2 Euro with no ham but toast bread, marmelade, gouda, cereals and milk or juice. James Joyce's house only a few houses away. You're in the city center. There is a hostel policy saying that you are only allowed to book maximum 7 nights per year!!! That's a pity but the other hostels will be happy to have you then!
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Georgiana Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »