See other Dublin properties

Mec Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 81% from 58 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bathroom on the floor, the room was clean. Breakfast for 2 Euro with no ham but toast bread, marmelade, gouda, cereals and milk or juice. James Joyce's house only a few houses away. You're in the city center. There is a hostel policy saying that you are only allowed to book maximum 7 nights per year!!! That's a pity but the other hostels will be happy to have you then!
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Georgiana Germany
  • Staying at this hostel was OK in general. But we booked 2 rooms in a 4-beds room so that my friend and myself could share the room with the less number of people possible. We were allocated in different rooms (4 beds each) and the manager said we booked only the beds, not 2 places in the same room. Never happened to us before and the guy at the reception was unable to manage bookings accordingly. Apart fron that, we enjoyed Dublin.
  • 60%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • We were six people, all together in the same room. It was spacious and clean, good beds, really good bathroom. 24 hours reception, friendly staff, all facilities to store the luggage on our last day. Good value for money, 10 minutes walk to Temple Bar through O'Connell Street, one of the main avenues of the city-
  • 91%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Miguel Spain
  • We had a huge double with table and chairs, sofa and chair plus a kitchenette and ensuite, such a surprise.
  • 89%
  • 14 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • You cannot pay with 100 eur banknotes and also you cannot pay separately for your booking.
  • 51%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • All good, thanks!
  • 86%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous France
  • staff excellent. Friendly excellent. Quiet location for a good sleep. bed comfy. Room was spacious despite 16 beds in room and lockers were a great help with storage. Asked for bottom bunk got it no problem, Breakfast at 2e was ok but got free elsewhere with better, They kept my luggage after i checked out free which was brilliant. They even offered to order a taxi for me thanks guys. 2 showers for crowd was a big rush queing. stairs are still a drag with a lot of luggage a lift needed
  • 80%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Anne Marie Ireland
  • Staff was verry friendly. Luggage storage was ok. Beds in dorm not that comfortable. I f you sleep on top and one underneath you moved, the whole bed moved.
  • 71%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Timothy Belgium
  • Not the cleanest hostel in the world and definitely not in Dublin, location is pretty inconvenient unless you're really looking to spend a lot of time on O'Connell Street. Some creepy dudes were hanging out at front at night and not the liveliest atmosphere for getting to know other people in the hostel, but the staff were pretty nice and it was a decent price.
  • 51%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely, cosy hostel. Nice people. Excellent location close to O'Connell Street. Quiet at night. No complains. If I should visit Dublin again I will most certainly stay in the same hostel.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous Belgium
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »