See other Shanghai properties

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel

No.55, Jiangyin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 81% from 16 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The overall condition of the hostel is not bad. But the facilities of shower room and restroom are bad.The location itself is good but hard to find at first.
  • 71%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Very good experience. nice and friendly atmosphere although seems a bit distant from other travellers. One has to be more proactive to make friends here.
  • 91%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Yu Kiu Hong Kong
  • very good location and nice place the staff doesn't give too many tips but anyway they are nice i ll come back!
  • 94%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Nice decoration, well located and not too expensive for Shanghai. I recommend it !
  • 86%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Florian
  • Check-In was the slowest we have every experienced (and we have had a reservation and speak Chinese). It took around 30 minutes, unbelievable. Also the walls are quite thin and therewith you hear everything. Very important do not take the room over the check-in area, you hear everything. The first night we could not sleep!
  • 69%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Robert Germany
  • WiFi was not working anywhere, not even in bar this morning. Writing this from the SH aquarium lol. Food in bar is convenient but somewhat overpriced. I'd appreciate free coffee or at least refills. Also better WiFi. I had to switch rooms to get one with WiFi reception but it's still weak and slow. Reception is not 24 hours. Chinese guard couldn't understand my request to buy soap and make change for laundry. No big deal. I'd probably stay here again as everything else and location are great.
  • 89%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels to socialize I have experienced so far! Food is a bit westernized, but the area has a lot of very good chinese food. If you handle a chinese (or if you make a friend at the hostel), this can be a great food trip! Also near the view to Pudong, a
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Markus Norway
  • I really enjoyed my stay at the Mingtown Etour IYH. It was conveniently placed near the Shanghai Subway Station which was a high priority for me. The staff were very helpful in recommending places to visit in Shanghai and very welcoming. The food at the cafe/bar was AWESOME! If you are homesick for some food from home they have various international dishes. Overall, I would recommend staying here when visiting Shanghai on a budget.
  • 86%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Courtney USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »