See other Shanghai properties

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 81% from 38 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed for two nights and I thought it was pretty great from the big showers to the location.
  • 91%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Renee USA
  • Location was really great. Steps were not quite friendly but they did nice. The problem was noise, but it depends on next room. I enjoyed staying in Mingtown.(南京東路)
  • 80%
  • 10 Feb 2016 HYE YOON South Korea
  • Decent hostel. Quite small rooms and there are a lot of people staying there that appear to actually live and work in Shanghai which does hurt the hostel atmosphere experience. Really great price and location to the subway and bund though!
  • 80%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Truly one of the best Hostels I've visited in China. Very clean, facilities are above average - 24-hour hot water, A/C and heat in each room, and fantastic location near the Bund center of the city, close to the subway. The staff service is mixed. There are a couple of people who don't like to be bothered by you and a couple who are helpful. The food and bar is okay. Not very noisy, and good place to rest when jet-lagged. I liked it so much I stayed twice while traveling in Eastern China.
  • 89%
  • 08 Nov 2015 Charles USA
  • Fantastic stay. Great location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean and tidy with good atmosphere. Would highly recommend.
  • 94%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Rebecca New Zealand
  • nothing bad to say. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • dorm was too much narrow, some staffs are unkind and cannot speak english. location is the only merit one.
  • 63%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Exellent location, extra value for money. Would stay here again. Only thing: because its Shanghai downtown, it can get a bit noisy, but thats not the hostels fault.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • Great place! Clean, safe, convenient to places (like the Bund). I definitely would stay here again if I'm back in Shanghai. The rooms were pretty cramped, but it was doable. Hostels are meant for only sleeping anyways. Close to subway station and downtown.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »