See other Minneapolis properties

Minneapolis International Hostel

2400 Stevens Avenue South, Minneapolis, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 70% from 13 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The male dorm had an odor in the bathroom. Otherwise, it was acceptable. A breaker problem made the fridge powerless, but I wasn't using it anyway.
  • 86%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in a single room for one night at the hostel by myself. The room itself was large with a fireplace, reflecting the historic nature of the house. This was nice. However, the room had a single bed with a bumpy mattress, 1 slumpy chair and random end tables with bare white walls. It could have been much less spartan to make it more comfortable. Having a private bathroom was nice, but it really needed some cleaning and I don't think the blankets were washed from the last occupant.
  • 63%
  • 05 Oct 2013 Brigit USA
  • Nice old mansion, but unfortunately not very well kept. Both members of the staff were rather snippy and lacking the usual US American friendliness that we encountered elsewere. I cant tell what experiences with guests this hostel has made prior to our trip, but you could tell, there was no patience of any kind.
  • 49%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Such a MEAN staff. I mean, WTF? Just because you're the only hostel in the area?
  • 34%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anwar USA
  • I had a really great time staying in Minneapolis' only Hostel, it's such a lovely old building with a great atmosphere. Despite some grumpier guests I had no complaints at all about my stay, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the bed was clean and comfortable and not too noisy, even with creaky floorboards! :) Had a lovely time and would love to visit again if I ever got the chance!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • This is maybe the worst hostel I've ever stay.
  • 40%
  • 22 Jun 2013 Anonymous China
  • The hostel location was great for attending a conference at the convention center. It was a short, pleasant walk or bus ride. Many restaurants and cafes are located within a couple of blocks of the hostel and the staff were very friendly and informative, willing to share recommendations. A problem with the shower in my room was handled efficiently by an offer for discount or to change rooms. My only suggestion would be improved bathroom cleaning between guests. Overall I enjoyed my stay.
  • 83%
  • 07 Jun 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • We stayed in a private room for two with a private bath. Unfortunately our shower didn't work so we had to take showers in the public showers. Cindy, one of the staff members, did what she could to try getting it fixed but as it was the weekend, there were no plumbers available. I would encourage the owner to perhaps put a little more time and energy ensuring the facilities work well. Granted, the property is an older building, but it's a beautiful one and we like its location.
  • 80%
  • 31 May 2013 David USA
  • Staff were friendly and efficient and the location of the hostel is quite good and an interesting, up and coming neighbourhood. The room I stayed in was reasonably clean but the floor needed to be swept; the bathroom was also reasonably clean but there was a lot of hair in the bath/shower and the waste bin was overflowing. The building is old and facilities will not match the more modern hostels without a major upgrade, however, really clean rooms and bathrooms would be a big improvement.
  • 60%
  • 24 Apr 2013 Julie Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »