See other Minneapolis properties

Minneapolis International Hostel

2400 Stevens Avenue South, Minneapolis, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 62% from 14 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 58%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 60%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Showed up to find a dilapidated looking building. Front door locked and nobody answering the door bell. Tried to call but my call went straight to an anonymous voice mail. Had to find another hotel at 5pm. Totally disappointed.
  • 23%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Jonathan USA
  • Dirty, messy, unsafe, horrible conditions. I paid a whole week in advance. After the first night there, I decided to check out, loose my money, and go to another place. My worst traveling experience.
  • 29%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Leonardo Brazil
  • you can feel that the people who started the hostel did it just to make a buck. It is not designed for a hostel it's more a house with doors that can lock and beds in no designated order. At least place bunkbeds and arrange them so that everyone has a wall outlet and not just one outlet in the bathroom for everyone to share. The outside has no sign that It's a hostel.
  • 43%
  • 26 May 2014 alexis Argentina
  • The male dorm had an odor in the bathroom. Otherwise, it was acceptable. A breaker problem made the fridge powerless, but I wasn't using it anyway.
  • 86%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in a single room for one night at the hostel by myself. The room itself was large with a fireplace, reflecting the historic nature of the house. This was nice. However, the room had a single bed with a bumpy mattress, 1 slumpy chair and random end tables with bare white walls. It could have been much less spartan to make it more comfortable. Having a private bathroom was nice, but it really needed some cleaning and I don't think the blankets were washed from the last occupant.
  • 63%
  • 05 Oct 2013 Brigit USA
  • Nice old mansion, but unfortunately not very well kept. Both members of the staff were rather snippy and lacking the usual US American friendliness that we encountered elsewere. I cant tell what experiences with guests this hostel has made prior to our trip, but you could tell, there was no patience of any kind.
  • 49%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Such a MEAN staff. I mean, WTF? Just because you're the only hostel in the area?
  • 34%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anwar USA
  • I had a really great time staying in Minneapolis' only Hostel, it's such a lovely old building with a great atmosphere. Despite some grumpier guests I had no complaints at all about my stay, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the bed was clean and comfortable and not too noisy, even with creaky floorboards! :) Had a lovely time and would love to visit again if I ever got the chance!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »