See other Bergen properties

Montana Youth and Family Hostel

Johan Blyttsvei 30, Bergen, Norway, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 78% from 15 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If it was not for the location, which is very far for the center, it would be the perfect hostel. There is a bus stop close to the hostel but take into account that bus tickets cost almost 4€. Otherwise, they offer good service, clean facilities, wonderfull views and a lot of organized activities.
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Jon Spain
  • The hostel is a challenge to get back to at the end of the day! And hard to find up in the hills! I found the staff very accommodating of people with disabilities because I needed a lower bed and there weren't any in the dormitory so they gave me a private room for the first night. There are lovely views nearby.
  • 66%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Matthew Ireland
  • Friendly Staffs, Clean Rooms, Close to the City Centre
  • 100%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous India
  • Very good hostel: friendly staff happy to help, great facilities (kitchen&co), breakfast included (rare in Norway). A bit out of the center however (bus needed) but great view on the city from the mountain!
  • 91%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • I understand the pillows and sheets are reused...but maybe they could be more regularly washed? Breakfast was a good spread, enjoyed it. and although I didn't really use the facilities such as gym or kitchen, it was great that there were so many available. Location was particularly hard to find
  • 86%
  • 26 Jul 2014 HONG TENG Singapore
  • The beds are really comfy and always clean, the rooms are spacial and tidy.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Derrick Ireland
  • If you came to Bergen to hike and enjoy the outdoors, this is your hostel. Montana is at the base of Mt. Ulriken, and about a 2 minute walk from the start of many gorgeous hiking trails up the mountain. Free breakfast was a big plus in expensive norway, and it's right around the corner from a nice grocery store so you can cook to save money. Kitchen is very nice, and outside patio has an absolutely stunning view overlooking the city and bay. I loved my stay here and would return.
  • 94%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • very good!
  • 20%
  • 10 Jun 2014 TADA Japan
  • This hostel is much older than others that I have stayed in. That being said, it would still be easy to clean the rooms and facilities better and for the staff to be more helpful in planning and suggesting activities.
  • 63%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Andrea USA
  • Hostel is a bit worn down, and far away from the city centre. But it is clean, cheap and have nice common rooms (big kitchen and living room). Great wifi connections in common rooms. The breakfast was SO good!!!
  • 74%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »