See other Los Angeles properties

MoonPad LA Arts District

125 South Boyle Avenue, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 41% from 13 reviews

  • 43%Atmosphere
  • 35%Staff
  • 32%Security
  • 30%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 44%Value for money
  • 27%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • there was no bedding available as it was all dirty so we slept on only a mattress. we received no bedding after being told it would be arranged. no locks on room doors. disturbed in middle of the night to knocking of security guard seeing if there was spare beds. came back one evening to all our stuff moved out our room and outside because there was a bed bug extermination, we did not know about this, our stuff was moved without permission, manager was rude, we moved hostels on last night
  • 34%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous
  • Bed bugs reminded me of Africa
  • 54%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Tony Kenya
  • We paid extra fees for cleaning, but the place had not been cleaned since 1973. All we got out of this 2 night stay was a crappy place to sleep and bite-marks from fleas/bedbugs or something nasty crawling in the beds that we were lucky to bring back home.
  • 31%
  • 29 Aug 2014 kristian
  • Started poorly, no one on reception. Took 25 mins to check in, they had double booked my bed. Tried to buy a water because the kitchen sink would not work. The machine dispensed sprite instead of water (no I am not joking) the bed was worse than a police cell, 3 inches of foam Over metal rails... Painful. Would not go there again. Only tiny silver lining, there were no bed bugs! Oh yeah and the shower didn't work in one bathroom so it was 25 people to one shower... A bit of a wait!
  • 31%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • Staff was friendly and other hostel goers but that's where good stops! Kitchen was always a mess;dishwasher mouldy; utensils and kitchen in general dirty One bathroom didn't work at all;others were dirty Breakfast was really first come first serve: 1 gallon of milk for at least 16 people; not restocked even next morning A few people chose to sleep on the couch instead of their beds because of bed lice A dude had to sleep on an inflatable mattress in the hallway
  • 46%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The price is good, but everything else is bad to unforgivable. When I went there, no one was there to check me in, nor was there anyone to check me out; they just charged me via credit card. But the story gets worse. I had no bed. They promised me a bed in a four bed-room but there was no bed whatsoever. All I could find instead was a bunch of holed air mattresses that I had no other choice but to make the best out of. There were also people who were stoned, and who looked like a homeless.
  • 31%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • When we arrived they gave us a story about not having enough beds for two people, but they did find beds pretty quickly when we refused to sleep on the floor. The Moon Pad is an organizational catastrophe, but the rooms are fairly clean, although having an average of 12 people per bathroom is certainly not ideal. For $20/night it's alright since it is close to the subway, but DO NOT leave any valuables lying around, and there is no free breakfast at all and beware the mandatory $5 laundry charge
  • 51%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Liam Canada
  • One lady on the staff 5 old me she quit about once every 3 days. My room was not cleaned once in 2 weeks. No food service on the premises. Kitchen was off bounds to guests but policy changed towards the end. Wifi sucked (1Mbps connection being used by 20 people). One guy lost his laptop and there was no help from the staff AT ALL. The damned air matress ruined my back. The only point in this place's favor is that it's very cheap ($18/night)
  • 51%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Saad Pakistan
  • They did not have room for me.I had to sleep on the floor in living room.Wifi is terrible.Hostel has only 2 restrooms for 16-20 peoples.
  • 37%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Thanathron
  • This is the worst hostel I saw in my life
  • 34%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Armenia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »