See other New York properties

NY Moore Hostel

179 Moore Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.9km

Rating: 89% from 15 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • aside from one or two mice, it was a great stay. the atmosphere was chill and i had good bunk-mates. it'll be my go to hostel for NYC.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Serhend USA
  • Good, clean hostel in a convenient part of Brooklyn. Easy to access the rest of the 5 Burroughs via subway. The rooms were also very clean, only 3 beds per room, with private bathroom. Very good value for the money
  • 91%
  • 04 Jul 2014 steve USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel, it's a nice place, clean with a very friendly staff and a good atmosphere. I really recommend NY Moore as a cheap place to stay near Manhatan.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Kaline Brazil
  • It was really laid back, clean, and in a fun and upcoming neighborhood. At first look, especially on Google Maps, the area can look shady but it's full of 20-somethings and I never felt like I was in danger (even walking alone *very* late). My only gripe is that I wasn't aware of taxes, etc. being added on and I hadn't planned on spending nearly $120 extra for the room (I paid 7 nights for 3 people). They did give a cash discount though!
  • 86%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Nathan USA
  • This place was just great for the price. The staff was extremely helpful and really knowledgeable about the Brooklyn area.very clean place,great vibe and overall atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone traveling NYC
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2014 George USA
  • This hostel had very kind, and helpful staff! The rooms and beds are very clean, but our washroom had squished bugs caked onto the floors, so I recommend guests bringing in a pair of washroom sandals. The common areas were well kept and oriented in a way which was conducive to mingling while also permitting one to have personal space if desired. The location was great! It was a quick walk from the subway, and also had some great organic juice bars and stores around the corner too.
  • 91%
  • 26 May 2014 Tamara Canada
  • Very good hostel with friendly staff in a nice neighbourhood in NY, can definitely recommend this hostel! Good restaurants and cosy bars nearby, people from the hostel have good recommendations.
  • 94%
  • 24 May 2014 Nina Netherlands
  • Staff warm and friendly. Room simple and "poor" but clean. Position quite good (not far from subway station that takes you to Manhattan). However 45$ per night is a little bit too much for what it offers.
  • 77%
  • 20 May 2014 Andrea Italy
  • I have stayed in every youth hostel in the NY area and the newly renovated NY Moore Hostel is by far the best. There is no comparison. The owners work there and Buba, the multitasking gentleman that runs the place will make sure this is your home away from home during your stay
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »