See other New York properties

NY Moore Hostel

179 Moore Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.9km

Rating: 85% from 31 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great alternative atmosphere, interesting neighborhood with very nice restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hostel is close to Manhattan and the most interesting part of Williamsburg. Another advantage: only three persons per room and private bathrooms! A great choice if you are on a budget.
  • 86%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Victoria Venezuela
  • The hostel is located close to the metro station. Our room was very clean (shortly after renovation). The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. It takes about 30 minutes to get by metro to the city center. Common room was spacious and lively and we get to know a lot of new people.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • Did not appear that there was much atmosphere, but NYC Loft Hostel just down the street had a nice bar. Of course it is NYC, so plenty of places to go to meet others. I only stayed one night, but I would definitely consider staying again.
  • 69%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Frank USA
  • The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom door in my dorm was a bit differcult to handle the lower hinges were loose. Otherwise the dorm was good and the general atmosphere was friendly.
  • 80%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Karrwright Canada
  • It's a bit of a journey to get to Manhattan, and I wish there had been free breakfast and laundry facilities, but the beds, bathrooms, and other amenities were great! The staff and atmosphere are awesome. Would definitely stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 BreAnna Canada
  • I had a lovely time at NY Moore. It wasn't very busy while I was there, so I didn't get to meet many people.The facilities are great, the room reminded me of a Victorian dollhouse. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I do warmly recommend this hostel to anyone but I'd like to point out that the location really isn't that great. I didn't feel comfortable walking down Moore St alone at night, since it's so quiet. I felt a bit let on by the description on the webpage.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Lara Germany
  • location is not that good for ladies. and it's very hard to catch taxis around here. you must ask front desk to call a cab for you. the nearest subway station is quite far. and you will feel unsafe while you are walking. but the room is very huge and neat. restroom is inside of the room. everyday cleaned very well. ah, there's no stove to cook. no sink to wash dishes. only frigers, coffee machines and microwave. you can't find rooms as big as like this in Manhattan. overall, not bad.
  • 74%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I saw rats for the first time in my life tho I've been a lot of hostels around n there was a drunk man in the lounge hitting on me so rudely calling me 'asian.' but the room was quite spacious and the staff were so kind. I didn't feel like it's in a safe area tho
  • 57%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • aside from one or two mice, it was a great stay. the atmosphere was chill and i had good bunk-mates. it'll be my go to hostel for NYC.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Serhend USA
  • Nice hostel in Brooklyn. Located close to subway station with 15-20 minutes to Manhattan. Staff was very nice. Rooms were huge with own bathroom.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Jens Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »