See other New York properties

NY Moore Hostel

179 Moore Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.9km

Rating: 82% from 26 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I and two friends stayed at NY Moore Hostel for four days, and we were very happy with our accommodations. We had a 3-bed private room and bath, which was spacious and clean. When our room's air conditioner didn't work, the staff worked very hard to get us a replacement that same afternoon. The staff were always pleasant, kind, eager to help, and willing to answer any questions we had. I would be perfectly happy to stay at NY Moore Hostel again when I'm in NYC in future.
  • 89%
  • 29 May 2016 Chantelle Canada
  • I didn't like the kitchen. This is of course a matter of taste: I personally am just not a huge fan of mice running around in bright daylight - while I am on the other hand a big fan of cool stuff such as plates, forks and knifes. I also want to mention that some of the staff was extraordinarily nice. But, mainly because of the kitchen, this was the worst of the 3 hostels in NY I've stayed at.
  • 69%
  • 24 Apr 2016 Lukas Switzerland
  • Lots of privacy, the staff was really easy going and available, free coffee was a plus, the beds were comfy, private bathrooms were a nice touch and very well cleaned.
  • 97%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Jacob USA
  • Awesome comedy night on Sunday!
  • 77%
  • 17 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Great place to stay.
  • 83%
  • 28 Feb 2016 Eli USA
  • It was a nice hostel in a fairly convinent location.
  • 71%
  • 02 Dec 2015 Alicia USA
  • Moore Hostel are among the finest hostels I've been in. Superb staff, amenities, facilities, location, value for money, and awesome artwork throughout the building. It has a vending machine that dispenses *useful* items (locks, mouthwash, adapter etc.), great options for passing time inside the common room (books in all genres, a big television with plenty of channels with Netflix included, board games, and free WiFi). Beware that it's a bit noisy at night because a loading bay is right outside.
  • 89%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Even Armand Norway
  • Incredibly expensive for where it is situated, and they would charge you for everything, but well, that's all about this big city. It's in 'hip' Brooklyn but actually far from Williamsburg where things actually happen. Bushwick, the neighborhood where the hostel's located might look kind of sketchy. We found nice puerto rican delis and lots of exotic places which we very much liked in the end though. There are only 3/4 beds per room, but for some reason we didn't really feel comfy.
  • 66%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Rooms are really nice, staff were helpful, however the wifi was terrible...
  • 77%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Brad Australia
  • A really cool place where everyone respects each other including using the facilities that they have. The bed was really comfortable and the staff were friendly and helped me brilliantly
  • 97%
  • 22 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »