See other New York properties

NY Moore Hostel

179 Moore Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.9km

Rating: 85% from 42 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great plesant staff, especially Lidya greetings to her. Hostel is average but atmosfere and location are really outstanding. Everybody (tourists) are going to Manhatan but real New York is Brooklyn for me. Highly recommended
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Stefan Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • A lot of space in rooms and beautiful living room :)
  • 89%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Krystyna Poland
  • The hostel compare to others in NYC has a really good value for money! The shower is also high enough for tall people!!!! :) The way to manhattan with the subway is easy and the station is 2 blocs from the hostel. The staff is very friendly and good for jokes ;)
  • 97%
  • 26 Sep 2014 felix
  • The hostel was clean, comfortable, and a short walk to a convenient subway line. The room I was in was a 3-bed dorm and it was huge, with plenty of room for 3 people and our stuff. In the room there was a sitting area with couch and coffee table. The attached bath was nice and clean. The wifi was a little flaky but usable. The front door was always open and staff had to leave the area at times to attend to guests, so it seemed that security might be lax.
  • 83%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Lucy USA
  • Great alternative atmosphere, interesting neighborhood with very nice restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hostel is close to Manhattan and the most interesting part of Williamsburg. Another advantage: only three persons per room and private bathrooms! A great choice if you are on a budget.
  • 86%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Victoria Venezuela
  • The hostel is located close to the metro station. Our room was very clean (shortly after renovation). The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. It takes about 30 minutes to get by metro to the city center. Common room was spacious and lively and we get to know a lot of new people.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • Did not appear that there was much atmosphere, but NYC Loft Hostel just down the street had a nice bar. Of course it is NYC, so plenty of places to go to meet others. I only stayed one night, but I would definitely consider staying again.
  • 69%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Frank USA
  • The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom door in my dorm was a bit differcult to handle the lower hinges were loose. Otherwise the dorm was good and the general atmosphere was friendly.
  • 80%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Karrwright Canada
  • It's a bit of a journey to get to Manhattan, and I wish there had been free breakfast and laundry facilities, but the beds, bathrooms, and other amenities were great! The staff and atmosphere are awesome. Would definitely stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 BreAnna Canada
  • I had a lovely time at NY Moore. It wasn't very busy while I was there, so I didn't get to meet many people.The facilities are great, the room reminded me of a Victorian dollhouse. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I do warmly recommend this hostel to anyone but I'd like to point out that the location really isn't that great. I didn't feel comfortable walking down Moore St alone at night, since it's so quiet. I felt a bit let on by the description on the webpage.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Lara Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »