See other New York properties

NYC Summer Dorms

1 University Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11201, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 78% from 15 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The AC in the room was loud, shower is a bit inconvenient, they only provide short towels, pillows are pretty bad. BUT, the price is amazing and the location is actually really accessible to Manhattan. Not sure if I will use it again, but basically, I got what I paid for.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Sung South Korea
  • cheapest accommodation I found. I liked the location, close to the subway.
  • 94%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It is near subway stations. The location was good as it's literally minutes away from Manhattan by subway and the staff can be helpful sometimes.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I made a mistake with my booking and reserved a male room. The staff were very helpful and moved me to a female room. They could have just canceled my reservation and tossed me out but they were very understanding about it all. Mind you this was during peak season. I could have slept on street if they did cancel my booking. For that I am very grateful and will always stay here when I visit NY. Thanks a lot!!!
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Proximity of various subway lines. Friendly casual staff. Free Wi-Fi. Fridge and micro-wave in the room. Excellent communication prior to arrival and staff always ready to try and help while we were there.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • university location, safe, close to the subway. The rooms were nice and big and clean.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Chester USA
  • Great location and very secure. Really convenient location next to the subway. The staff were very friendly and very willing to help.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Cary USA
  • Definitely an experience worth repeating. The rooms were not luxurious but hey, it's a student dorm. They provided me with all that I needed for my trip in NY. Thanks guys!
  • 94%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Desiree USA
  • Some of the people I found rude and they do not give you towels and the sheets are too small and always come of the bed. No cooking facilities either just a microwave
  • 89%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Caitlin Australia
  • The location is good and convenience to travel in New yolk. It is very closed to transportation. But the women's bathroom is dirty and the room is too dark for me because my room has only one light. The wifi connection is very low signal and difficult to connect.
  • 66%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Saritvich Thailand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »