See other Nagasaki properties

Nagasaki International Hostel AKARI

2-2 Kojiyamachi, Nagasaki, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 89% from 15 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Mattresses weren't very comfy and there is a need of more private bathrooms and more than 2 for like 12 people. It was clean and the location is decent. There is a restaurant they recommend in the same block that is amazing! Not expensive, the food is really nice and is very traditional. They don't allow you to use any of the facilities after you checked out, very unstandard for hostels!
  • 69%
  • 02 May 2016 Anonymous Colombia
  • Nice central hostel 20mins walk from Nagasaki train station and 15mins walk to city center. The hostel has lots of info on what to do and see in and around Nagasaki. The staff are knowledgeable and very helpful. Nice kitchen and common room but no lifts and the toilets are very small.
  • 83%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • Very nice and helpfull staff really loved staying here.
  • 94%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The hostel was very clean and had a great common room space, which included a library! The hostel staff are also VERY nice and have excellent English. It's a few stops on tram (160yen per ride, have change ready!) and a short walk from the tram station to the hostel. If you have a lot of luggage, I'd be careful. There is also no elevator in the hostel. The shared dorms are comfortable although the beds and rooms are a bit small. In the winter, the rooms are VERY cold. Dress warmly and in layers.
  • 94%
  • 11 Mar 2016 Aily USA
  • Wonderful map and information on the walls. Lovely decorations - felt homey. Good hostel but don't like their policy of banning you from the common area after checkout. I was looking at my map, finishing my breakfast when I was asked to leave at 11:45 AM (I've been a perfect guest and room wasn't crowded). That's normally not a problem at other hostels. No dryer for the washing machine. Catholic Center Hostel is cheaper.
  • 94%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The staffs are friendly. The location is easy to find if you follow the instruction on the hostels.com web page, and the hostel is near to some historical sights, which is good to me. The room is full of Japanese style. They also offer a sight seeing tour for backpackers, I would like to try it next time. By the way, the tram no.3 is unavailable now, take no.2 to "Kokaido" stop.
  • 91%
  • 04 Nov 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Staff: Friendly, good English, good know-how about Hagasaki, Constructive with solutions flezible
  • 80%
  • 04 Nov 2015 Petrus Netherlands
  • I really enjoyed my stay. The staffs speak pretty good English and they are very helpful. I do hope that they can have a 24hr front desk then I do not need to waste my time to wait for them for some questions....
  • 89%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Ellen Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »