See other Toronto properties

Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.2km

Rating: 66% from 16 reviews

  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The organisation is very good. But I think the interior deserves a personal touch. The bathrooms are shared with too many people and are really outdated. But the price is what really matters and that is low as can be, very nice.
  • 77%
  • 18 Jul 2016 Anonymous Netherlands
  • rent a bike is too expensive and no flexibility. employeer(man) was not kind.
  • 74%
  • 03 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • I found a dirty q-tip in my room. The blanket looked like it was found in an alley out back. My light didn't work when I got back to my room that night. I then moved rooms as no one could switch the lightbulb for 2 more days i was told. Wifi doesnt work in the rooms, so you have to go to lounge areas to access it. It was not a terrible experience. It was not a wonderful experience. The location is good.
  • 43%
  • 14 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The staff are very professional and the security is very good. The breakfast is pretty nice and the views from the deck on the 22nd floor are beautiful. However, if the daily weather forecast exceeds 26C/79F when you'll be in Toronto do not stay here! If you do you will suffer as there is no air conditioning in the rooms. My dorm mates and I endured multiple sleepless nights due to the extreme heat and humidity. Installing central A/C throughout the building is highly recommended.
  • 91%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Although this hostel was in a good location and had a good breakfast what I couldn't get past was how dirty it was. I have stayed in cleaner hostels all over South East Asia. In particular the bathrooms were filthy, lots of dirty towels lying around, dirty floor, dirty shower cubicle and litter all over the place. The floor in the bedroom was also filthy. It was a tiled floor and was all mucky. The entrance could also do with a good clean and the carpets throughout the building. I'll not be back
  • 49%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Mairead Ireland
  • Only had a quick stay here but everything weren't well, the staff were helpful with parking and getting a cab, and the location was great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious.
  • 83%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • Petits dortoirs simples et efficaces
  • 71%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous Belgium
  • Pros: cheap, downtown, free breakfast. Cons: uncomfortable 'bed' and 'pillow', very very small space — practically a closet split between two people — and the breakfast was mediocre (cold cereal, stale bagels, instant coffee). you get what you pay for
  • 69%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Carter USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »