See other Toronto properties

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.2km

Rating: 69% from 20 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Perhaps the staff could think about putting up signs to remind themselves and the guests not to slam the doors! I was staying in a private single and starting from 7 am there was just a ridiculous amount of door slamming all morning long! I asked for an 8 am wakeup call and I even heard the staff member let the big door slam coming in and out! ok, I wanted to wake up anyways, but maybe some other people from the section would like some peace in the morning. plus, noisy in the back of building.
  • 74%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Rajeev Canada
  • Whilst the sheets were clean, everything else; the floor, the windows, the bathroom, shower, canteen tables, were dirty. The floor in my 4 bed dorm was so flithy that I have never written a review before- but I felt I had to write this.
  • 46%
  • 18 Aug 2013 Zoe England
  • The location of the hostel is good and the breakfast was good as well. However, my friend and I stayed in this hostel for four days and the bathroom has never been cleaned during this time and the room was way too warm.
  • 69%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Lucas Brazil
  • If you take location and price in consideration it's a pretty good place... But don't set your expectation too high. No A/C, wifi is only available on 22nd floor and the facilities are not the most welcoming... But the staff is cool and you're a 5min walk from Younge st.
  • 69%
  • 08 Aug 2013 paul-dominique Canada
  • Second year in a row I went to this hostel, it works just fine as an inexpensive place to stay when visiting from outside the area. Breakfast being included is a nice touch, and it's a very secure building. Close to anything you need in regards to groceries, etc...
  • 80%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • If you plan to stay in a hot weather you should know that there is no AC and that you might not be able to sleep due to the stiff air (no air circulation at all). On such occasion the night residency of the internet room is dramaticzlly increased. Otherwise the location is good and breakfast is even better.
  • 60%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Anonymous Slovenia
  • You know what?? It's the WORST hostel ever! If you go! you'll regret it FOR SURE!!! I don't even want to think about those 3 nights I had to be there.. I didnt check the reviews before booking it online. Otherwise I wouldn't do that.
  • 20%
  • 28 Jun 2013 Fatemeh Iran
  • I would like to have wifi access from my own room.
  • 83%
  • 21 Jun 2013 Anonymous Spain
  • I stayed for 4 nights in this Hostel and it was so dirty and dreary. You don't know if people are living here or just travelling. And the free wifi is only available in the 22nd in room with dirty couch. I won't go there if I'm going back to Toronto. Don't go there too ! It's really dirty ! In my room, I found hair on the ground when I cam, a lot of hair ! And the floor of the bathroom has never seen a vaccum cleaner !
  • 60%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • the location and the price are yeah for sure amazing but it s so old and dirty !!!!
  • 49%
  • 06 May 2013 anthony France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »