See other Toronto properties

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.2km

Rating: 73% from 13 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff are very professional and the security is very good. The breakfast is pretty nice and the views from the deck on the 22nd floor are beautiful. However, if the daily weather forecast exceeds 26C/79F when you'll be in Toronto do not stay here! If you do you will suffer as there is no air conditioning in the rooms. My dorm mates and I endured multiple sleepless nights due to the extreme heat and humidity. Installing central A/C throughout the building is highly recommended.
  • 91%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Although this hostel was in a good location and had a good breakfast what I couldn't get past was how dirty it was. I have stayed in cleaner hostels all over South East Asia. In particular the bathrooms were filthy, lots of dirty towels lying around, dirty floor, dirty shower cubicle and litter all over the place. The floor in the bedroom was also filthy. It was a tiled floor and was all mucky. The entrance could also do with a good clean and the carpets throughout the building. I'll not be back
  • 49%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Mairead Ireland
  • Only had a quick stay here but everything weren't well, the staff were helpful with parking and getting a cab, and the location was great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious.
  • 83%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • Petits dortoirs simples et efficaces
  • 71%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous Belgium
  • Pros: cheap, downtown, free breakfast. Cons: uncomfortable 'bed' and 'pillow', very very small space — practically a closet split between two people — and the breakfast was mediocre (cold cereal, stale bagels, instant coffee). you get what you pay for
  • 69%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Carter USA
  • Normal hostel in central location. The staff is very friendly and helpful! The building may have seen better days but is absolutely acceptable for a few nights. Rooms, shower, linen and towels are clean. No air condition. A definite highlight is the view from the roof terrace in day and night time! Breakfast included - you choose a maximum of 4 items out of a selection (coffee, tea, cereals, fruits, bagel, muffin ...)
  • 83%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Frank Germany
  • The rooms could use a mirror. However, since the floor was a bit worn, it was hard to tell if was clean. The luggage storage area was terrible, while I didn't have problems with my luggage, the area needs to be checked more often for cleanliness. There was food left on the shelf in the luggage area and it appeared it had been left for more than a day. I definitely felt like I was leaving my luggage at my own risk. The staff was great!
  • 66%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Gisele USA
  • Made all easy, would stay again :)
  • 86%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Victoria Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »