See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 70% from 14 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Lousy place. Very Lousy and dirty
  • 60%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • At first I had mixed feelings about the roommate, but those doubts were quickly dispelled - very friendly people with whom you can enjoy a bottle of beer. Hostel staff also proved to be quite helpful. But I have some doubts about the cleanliness - a few times I happened to see and kill a cockroach in the kitchen... Anyway - for this price there is nothing to criticize!
  • 69%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • I have had previous experience with hostels (mainly in Europe) but this was by far the best experience. The room was spacious, they provided sheets and towels without charge, and for the most part the space was clean and well kept. The location was great and there were lots of hot spots in walking distance. Would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap, good place to stay in New Orleans!
  • 77%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Rachel
  • The staff was not really friendly, and definitely not open minded on arrangement. The dorm where I was smelled cigarette, been there 2 days and nothing had been clean, garbage full, saw no one there to clean the area. The community kitchen is less than basic, no stove, not much commodities and not clean, I would not eat there! Outside table fills early in morning with drinking and smoking dudes! Staff stay at reception, closed from noon till 5PM, no one around dorms and areas .Avoid!!
  • 37%
  • 08 May 2015 Pierre Canada
  • Reading some of the older reviews for this place, I was nervous about the experience, nice staff, the neighborhood was fine, with easy access to the French Quarter and the St. Patty's Day parade that was a block away on St. Charles. They even have a small parking lot next to the building and there was always street parking. The hostel is made up of a handful of buildings with enclosed courtyards so you could relax and chill for the brief time you were there.
  • 69%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place has improved since I stayed there years ago. I stayed with the seniors this time so I was in a room with only a few people. I enjoyed sleeping there and slept well. It was good to be close to 3 lines of street cars as well as good restaurants and bars open 24/7. It was great being in the Garden District on St Charles Ave as well as Bourbon St and Canal St and the Riverwalk. Therefore I was close to activities like Mardi Gras, St. Patricks Day celebration and music festivities.
  • 80%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Herbert USA
  • I loved how there was a lady that would come in and do housekeeping
  • 71%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Can't beat this location 1 block from St. Charles. Management is the best!
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »