See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 67% from 17 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 63%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Reading some of the older reviews for this place, I was nervous about the experience, nice staff, the neighborhood was fine, with easy access to the French Quarter and the St. Patty's Day parade that was a block away on St. Charles. They even have a small parking lot next to the building and there was always street parking. The hostel is made up of a handful of buildings with enclosed courtyards so you could relax and chill for the brief time you were there.
  • 69%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place has improved since I stayed there years ago. I stayed with the seniors this time so I was in a room with only a few people. I enjoyed sleeping there and slept well. It was good to be close to 3 lines of street cars as well as good restaurants and bars open 24/7. It was great being in the Garden District on St Charles Ave as well as Bourbon St and Canal St and the Riverwalk. Therefore I was close to activities like Mardi Gras, St. Patricks Day celebration and music festivities.
  • 80%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Herbert USA
  • I loved how there was a lady that would come in and do housekeeping
  • 71%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Can't beat this location 1 block from St. Charles. Management is the best!
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really bad location, bad neighborhood, unpleasant staff. I was in a bind and needed a place, but ended up staying with friends instead of being here for even two nights because I was terrified of it. I've been in all manner of hostels but this was by far the worst experience I've had. There were cockroaches everywhere.
  • 20%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Daniel USA
  • This hostel would not have been too bad for the value, except it was infested with bedbugs. Otherwise the room was pretty nice.
  • 54%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Andrew
  • Not the worst hostel in the world, it was clean but the actual facilities and appliances were poor, most of the plug sockets didn't work, the two side lights didn't actually plug into the wall, no cutlery or plates etc, there was a very slow kettle and toaster and fridge/freezer. It was okay of you just want somewhere to sleep but it didn't have the vibe most other hostels do, no sense of community etc however close to the at Charles cart line which was useful and cheep.
  • 57%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Rachel England
  • Thank you:)
  • 80%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Yanlin China
  • This is a place of filth. I've got bitten by BEDBUGS and did not feel comfortable or safe at any time. My bed was standing on bricks, everything is old, broken and filthy. Nothing will make me go back to this place.
  • 23%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous
  • One of the best hostels I have been to in years
  • 94%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »