See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 61% from 37 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly and helpful staff. Worth the money. Felt completely safe. Would go back if i were inthe area.
  • 77%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Wi-Fi kept going out. I asked if they could reboot to see if that would help. They said it wouldn't help. It's because we have about 200 people on it. You can't rely on it.
  • 69%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great stay, great value, nice people.
  • 89%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great time very quite around there
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2014 james USA
  • Wifi signal is so weak.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • I feel this place had potential, but isn't amazing. Location is awesome, in the garden district (which is cool) and not a long street car ride to downtown. The manager was not friendly or helpful. They also stuff as many beds into one room as they can, which becomes quite crowded. This wouldn't be my first choice, but it was not aweful. I would recommend another before this one.
  • 54%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Kylene Canada
  • I have nothing nice to say about this place. My friend and I are traveling USA and this by far is the worst hostel we have stayed. Old creepy men living in the dorm rooms, the shower had a gigantic hole in the floor that had been "fixed" with a floor mat and baking tray, welds on the bed had broken so the bed was held up with a cinder block and milk crate. It should be shut down. There are no lockers. We had another hostel booked the following night and were refused entry due to staying here.
  • 20%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Michael Australia
  • This place is awful. Drunken old men staff the place and eerily force themselves into the conversations of the travelers. There's one guy (who pretends to be the boss) who literally drinks from the time he wakes up to the the time he goes to bed. In addition, they have bed bugs and several guests were infected by it.
  • 31%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Daniel USA
  • I feel they never clean the bathroom while i was living there. The bathroom is gross. And the door is hard to lock and open. We complained to the staff, and they just told us to pull the door harder, but...why not just fix it and no customer will have problem?
  • 43%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This place is a good hostel. It's what I expect from a typical hostel. The bad reviews I've read had higher expectations out of hostels that I think are unfair. Plusses: Location Freedom Atmosphere Minuses: Lack of Lockers
  • 74%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Stuart USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »