See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 62% from 33 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 56%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel would not have been too bad for the value, except it was infested with bedbugs. Otherwise the room was pretty nice.
  • 54%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Andrew
  • Not the worst hostel in the world, it was clean but the actual facilities and appliances were poor, most of the plug sockets didn't work, the two side lights didn't actually plug into the wall, no cutlery or plates etc, there was a very slow kettle and toaster and fridge/freezer. It was okay of you just want somewhere to sleep but it didn't have the vibe most other hostels do, no sense of community etc however close to the at Charles cart line which was useful and cheep.
  • 57%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Rachel England
  • Thank you:)
  • 80%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Yanlin China
  • This is a place of filth. I've got bitten by BEDBUGS and did not feel comfortable or safe at any time. My bed was standing on bricks, everything is old, broken and filthy. Nothing will make me go back to this place.
  • 23%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous
  • One of the best hostels I have been to in years
  • 94%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel is well located. Staff knowledgeable. Amenities could be updated.
  • 71%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Judith Australia
  • A total Goldilocks experience. I came back from an evening of partying at the French Quarter, and someone was sleeping in my bed. I will never stay at a hostel again.
  • 26%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Gary USA
  • Was apprehensive after reading preview reviews and glad to see WAY over exaggerated! The staff here were really nice, the buildings are a bit run down (and not the cleanest) but I met nice people. The location is good and although the security was not fab (doors didn't lock properly) I felt safe during my whole visit. Don't be put off, as let's face it, it's a hostel, not a five star hotel, but it's good value for money. Beware though as the wifi is almost non-existent.
  • 69%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • Very friendly and helpful staff. Worth the money. Felt completely safe. Would go back if i were inthe area.
  • 77%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Wi-Fi kept going out. I asked if they could reboot to see if that would help. They said it wouldn't help. It's because we have about 200 people on it. You can't rely on it.
  • 69%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »