See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 63% from 36 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 56%Security
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had a great time very quite around there
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2014 james USA
  • Wifi signal is so weak.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • I feel this place had potential, but isn't amazing. Location is awesome, in the garden district (which is cool) and not a long street car ride to downtown. The manager was not friendly or helpful. They also stuff as many beds into one room as they can, which becomes quite crowded. This wouldn't be my first choice, but it was not aweful. I would recommend another before this one.
  • 54%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Kylene Canada
  • I have nothing nice to say about this place. My friend and I are traveling USA and this by far is the worst hostel we have stayed. Old creepy men living in the dorm rooms, the shower had a gigantic hole in the floor that had been "fixed" with a floor mat and baking tray, welds on the bed had broken so the bed was held up with a cinder block and milk crate. It should be shut down. There are no lockers. We had another hostel booked the following night and were refused entry due to staying here.
  • 20%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Michael Australia
  • This place is awful. Drunken old men staff the place and eerily force themselves into the conversations of the travelers. There's one guy (who pretends to be the boss) who literally drinks from the time he wakes up to the the time he goes to bed. In addition, they have bed bugs and several guests were infected by it.
  • 31%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Daniel USA
  • I feel they never clean the bathroom while i was living there. The bathroom is gross. And the door is hard to lock and open. We complained to the staff, and they just told us to pull the door harder, but...why not just fix it and no customer will have problem?
  • 43%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This place is a good hostel. It's what I expect from a typical hostel. The bad reviews I've read had higher expectations out of hostels that I think are unfair. Plusses: Location Freedom Atmosphere Minuses: Lack of Lockers
  • 74%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Stuart USA
  • Please stay away from this place. I have travelled a lot and probably stayed in about 50 hostels from Brazil to Australia. It's not like a hostel at all. It is more like a shelter, believe me! The were some women that lived in the room. The beds are falling apart. The water had no pressure at the shower. And I am sure I got bitten by bedbugs. The linen had so many stains. One woman at the room was drunk and smelling so bad. It was a terrible experience.
  • 40%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Carolina Brazil
  • overall it was a good experiance for me ...
  • 86%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Saja Iraq
  • Great stay, great people there. As a college student who wanted to travel, this was a perfect solution to my lodeging.
  • 74%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Charles USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »