See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 61% from 36 reviews

  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 55%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I feel this place had potential, but isn't amazing. Location is awesome, in the garden district (which is cool) and not a long street car ride to downtown. The manager was not friendly or helpful. They also stuff as many beds into one room as they can, which becomes quite crowded. This wouldn't be my first choice, but it was not aweful. I would recommend another before this one.
  • 54%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Kylene Canada
  • I have nothing nice to say about this place. My friend and I are traveling USA and this by far is the worst hostel we have stayed. Old creepy men living in the dorm rooms, the shower had a gigantic hole in the floor that had been "fixed" with a floor mat and baking tray, welds on the bed had broken so the bed was held up with a cinder block and milk crate. It should be shut down. There are no lockers. We had another hostel booked the following night and were refused entry due to staying here.
  • 20%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Michael Australia
  • This place is awful. Drunken old men staff the place and eerily force themselves into the conversations of the travelers. There's one guy (who pretends to be the boss) who literally drinks from the time he wakes up to the the time he goes to bed. In addition, they have bed bugs and several guests were infected by it.
  • 31%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Daniel USA
  • I feel they never clean the bathroom while i was living there. The bathroom is gross. And the door is hard to lock and open. We complained to the staff, and they just told us to pull the door harder, but...why not just fix it and no customer will have problem?
  • 43%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This place is a good hostel. It's what I expect from a typical hostel. The bad reviews I've read had higher expectations out of hostels that I think are unfair. Plusses: Location Freedom Atmosphere Minuses: Lack of Lockers
  • 74%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Stuart USA
  • Please stay away from this place. I have travelled a lot and probably stayed in about 50 hostels from Brazil to Australia. It's not like a hostel at all. It is more like a shelter, believe me! The were some women that lived in the room. The beds are falling apart. The water had no pressure at the shower. And I am sure I got bitten by bedbugs. The linen had so many stains. One woman at the room was drunk and smelling so bad. It was a terrible experience.
  • 40%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Carolina Brazil
  • overall it was a good experiance for me ...
  • 86%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Saja Iraq
  • Great stay, great people there. As a college student who wanted to travel, this was a perfect solution to my lodeging.
  • 74%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Charles USA
  • This place seems to have got a lot of bad press in the reviews. I was pleasently surprised. I booked a private room. The place is old but clean and reasonably well maintained. It's not the Hilton - but what do you expect at these rates in a fashionable neighbourhood a short ride in a streetcar to the French Quarter. I had off-street parking for my rented car, fridge, microwave, TV, dining setting and a sofa. The staff are fine, they're not in-your-face cheerful but they're approachable.
  • 80%
  • 14 Nov 2013 John Australia
  • Dana, Desk Clerk, was cordial, respectful & accommodating.The hostel has authentic N/O appeal with high ceilings, exposed brick walls, & lush grassy courtyard w/seating & green foliage everywhere. A party of 4 we paid $37.50 ea for a clean bed, bathroom & a/c. Within a 3 block area we had a reasonably priced corner supermarket, local bar with outside seating, great restaurants surrounded by historical architecture & the St. Charles street cars. Blending in with the locals couldn't be cheaper.
  • 83%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Brenda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »