See other New Orleans properties

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 61% from 36 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 55%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I did not stay at the Marquette House in New Orleans because of so many bad reviews. Cancelled last minute and they charged me full stays. Its ok as long as I did not get a disease.
  • 20%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • My stay here at the Marquette House was great. I do not have any experience with hostels prior to my stay at this one but I must say that you when you stay here, you certainly get what you pay for.
  • 80%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Aaron USA
  • A 2 night stay at Marquette House (actually the brick building across the road from the main house) was pleasant in a 6 bed unit with only two of us there. Very convenient for the trolly and downtown NOLA. Free parking next to house. Nice view on the 2nd floor to a courtyard with sitting area. Security note - door lock was only slightly usable - very loose.
  • 74%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It was really dirty and the new sheets provided to us were soiled and smelt stale, night time involved hunting roaches. Air conditioning was not functioning but it was not fixed in the 14-bed all-female dorm and the air was just stale since there wasn't any ventilation. Basically no security at all since males can come and go as they please in the all-female dorm too so if you don't like your dorm mate making love beside you or above or below you, this is not the place for you.
  • 40%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • Very funky place. Seedy as can be. Friendly people, staff and guests. I have some mobility and health issues; and they were very helpful. I loved it. Gigantic private room in a historic building, with fridge and microwave. Have them make sure there are batteries in the TV zapper. Just a block off the St. Charles streetcar line. Good breakfast place (The Trolley Stop) about two blocks away on St. Charles. Other interesting restaurants nearby.
  • 86%
  • 06 Oct 2013 James USA
  • The hostel is right next to the street car stop which takes you everywhere you want. I gotta admit that it wasn't the cleanest hostel I've seen, but it wasn't very bad. Staff was nice but could have showed us around the hostel when we first came, because that's what they didn't do... But generally it was a nice experience. And there is one BIG plus- beds in there are incredibly comfortable!
  • 83%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Paulina Poland
  • Awful hostel. The owner is very unhelpful, and is definitely a substance abuser. The location of the hostel is in a dodgy neighbourhood. The hostel has bed bugs!
  • 20%
  • 30 Aug 2013 rayomand England
  • The rooms were filthy and the smell of smoke was very strong. The bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned and there was not enough water coming out of the shower, which made me spend about 40 minutes to get my hair and body cleaned. There were roaches everywhere and the rest of the building was dusty. Honestly, I did not ask for luxury but at least a clean place to sleep and water flowing from the shower is necessary when you spend the whole day out and want to relax when you come back.
  • 49%
  • 09 Aug 2013 isadora Brazil
  • Wifi only near flont.
  • 63%
  • 10 Jul 2013 daisuke Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »