See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 138 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is enough close to approach to many touristic areas. All staffs are very considerate and tried to keep the facilities clean. In addition, if you come back late, there are many bars, restaurant and 24hr pharmacy around the hostel. Besides, the receptionists always stay in the lobby so it's not dangerous in my opinion.
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I liked it,most because it was nice and clean,and for the location.The staff was always willing to help,whatever it was.The only think I miss,during my stay,was a water boiler(for tea,oat-meal…..)in the rooms.Free towels is also a big pluss.
  • 91%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anita Norway
  • Great staff, comfortable beds, rooms and restrooms.A little bit far from times square and other important views from the city, but is 2 blocks from a subway station that take you wherever you want to go.
  • 91%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff. Met great people there who really made my visit.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Nicola England
  • We stayed at a private room: the room was a little stuffy, but it's nothing if you take into consideration the location and staff ^)
  • 89%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Very well located hostel. Everything is clean and in good condition. Best staff I have ever seen at a hostel : very friendly and happy to help with any problem. Best value for money in Manhattan.
  • 94%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • If you plan to go out for 12+ hrs/day to explore the city & just need a bed & a shower then this is the perfect place for you! It is really a hybrid b/w a hostel & a hotel. Like a hostel, beds (in the form of bunk beds) are sold individually, rooms are very small, most bathrooms are for the entire hall, there are events such as free pizza night & pub crawls. Like a hotel your bed is made each day & the trash removed, you have a fridge & microwave, & the hall bathrooms are private. Will return!!
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Thank you for your assistance and service
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • This hostel is just in the middle of manhattan, you can walk to 5th avenue, times square and very close to the empire state building. It's clean and the staff is very friendly. They provide hot chocolate and coffee and some small donut kind of things from dunkin donut for breakfast. It's perfect for a budget stay in New york!
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • New York Budget Inn is in my top 5 hostels. The only downside couldn't be helped: a sleep-talker. Admittedly, he was sheepish/apologetic in the morning, realizing his nightmare was vocalized. Although I lost sleep, I've gotten a lot of mileage & laughs from recounting the story of hearing him whisper & wail "Help Me, Help Me!". The hostel was truly tops: clean, secure, well-located, & friendly. Highly recommended. With all hostels, be prepared to gain a story; it comes with the bargain.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Thomas USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »