See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 87% from 150 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Friendly staff, clean place, clean and confortable bunk beds. Rooms locked by keys and with lockers, so a safe feeling. A bit noisy from the street as it's the heart of the busy manhattan, but I sleep with ear plugs so it didn't affect me
  • 86%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • I really enjoyed staying here, the staff were amazing, when i had a room on the 5th floor they took both my bags upstairs for me (as there is no elevator) and they were very heavy bags! It was convenient having a fridge and microwave in our room and the beds were suprisingly comfortable! The rooms/beds were cleaned and changed over everyday which was good. There wasnt a common room which for a solo person travelling would have come in handy but the people in my room were great !
  • 94%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Everyone from the staff was very nice and the hostel provided us with very useful information about the city (a map, activities,shuttle to the airport...)
  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Meriem Morocco
  • I thought it was pretty cute that they have free pizza and karaoke or comedy on two nights of the week. Great place to stay if you're under the age of 30 and looking for a secure place to leave your stuff and explore new york. Two blocks from the lexington subway line which was convenient, not far from grand central either. I would stay here again. The beds were a little short and the room got really hot at night without the AC on, but they had an air conditioner in the window and a working TV.
  • 94%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Kathryn Canada
  • Very satisfied with our stay at this hostel. We stayed for 8 nights and have no complains. All shower rooms and toilets where cleaned every day and there is enough of them on each floor to prevent long ques. Check in and out was efficient and the staff was very helpful. The only slightly negative thing is poor sound isolation ant a lot of noise in the street outside during the night. But this is New York so I guess you just have to get used to it. Also earplugs are complementary :)
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • Great Hostel in NYC! The rooms are clean, the staff is very helpful, the bathrooms are well equipped and work fine, security is ok, they use key cards to lock doors so only guests have access, and they still have activities, tours, and can help with airport shuttles. It was a great stay. The only thing I would say are the heaters can get quite noisy when you are not used to them, but it didn't bother my sleep at all. Definitely recommended, and the location is excellent!
  • 94%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Hugo Brazil
  • it was really good hostel except noisy. I am not really sensitive person so it was ok for me, I really wanna say thank you to one of the hostel staff. He was really helped. i had one big luggage. When I checked out he helped me to take my luggage down.
  • 86%
  • 17 Mar 2015 AYOUNG South Korea
  • We would totally recommend it!
  • 89%
  • 16 Mar 2015 MARIA Venezuela
  • 4 room was roomy but the 2 room looked cramped. There is a mini fridge in the room. My room had windows but I figured others didn't. No lifts! Complimentary munchkins, hot choc, and coffee from Dunkin every morning. Lockers provided but your lock ring has to be thick enough for it to work. Location wise, it is pretty convenient. It shares the same street as the Empire State Building and walkable distance to Grand Central as well. There is Dunkin Donuts, MacDonalds and other eateries nearby
  • 86%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Overall, a decent experience. My main points of frustrations, however, was that 1) toilets were constantly clogged and 2) the complex lacked a communal microwave for residents to use.
  • 63%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »