See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 139 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The value for the price was great, as my girlfriend and I were able to rent a private room with a double bed for only $120. Sharing a bathroom was fine, as each floor had more than enough bathroom/shower combinations that I never really had to wait, and the sinks in the bedrooms were quite convenient as well. The location was only a few blocks away from the Empire State Building and the subway in Midtown, so basically perfect! Free coffee and donuts every morning and free pizza on Tuesday!
  • 89%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The noise from the street came to the room but I guess that happens everywhere in NY. Rooms and restrooms were clean and big enough, also the lockers worked well. Staff wasn't very helpful and at some point felt quite slow and not so friendly. The organized happenings at the hostel weren't promoted at all. Price was high and you had to pay extra for baggage storage, although NY in general is expensive. Location was really good.
  • 66%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anne Finland
  • Clean rooms and very kind employees. Really enjoyed my stay there!!
  • 97%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I was not informed on the bus shuttle times for the Airport so only was able to stay in the hotel for 2 hours. The staff were not very helpful and i had to pay the full amount for the room even though i was only there for 2 hours. It is definitely not value for money as the room was so small and was a tight squeeze with the amount of people in the room. The bathroom was just as small, you took one step in and you were by the toilet and shower. Not enough room at all for the four people.
  • 46%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • After staying at a really terrible hostel in Brooklyn , I was absolutely astounded to get to New York Budget Inn. Everything was clean, the staff were friendly, there was heaps of space in the rooms, the lockers were big... Just everything was so spot on. I will suggest the NYBI to anybody I know visiting New York, and I'll revisit myself. Keep up the good work!
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Daniel Australia
  • Great place, lots of nice little touches like free coffee in the morning, and a filtered water tap to fill up your water bottles.
  • 94%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Location is enough close to approach to many touristic areas. All staffs are very considerate and tried to keep the facilities clean. In addition, if you come back late, there are many bars, restaurant and 24hr pharmacy around the hostel. Besides, the receptionists always stay in the lobby so it's not dangerous in my opinion.
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I liked it,most because it was nice and clean,and for the location.The staff was always willing to help,whatever it was.The only think I miss,during my stay,was a water boiler(for tea,oat-meal…..)in the rooms.Free towels is also a big pluss.
  • 91%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anita Norway
  • Great staff, comfortable beds, rooms and restrooms.A little bit far from times square and other important views from the city, but is 2 blocks from a subway station that take you wherever you want to go.
  • 91%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff. Met great people there who really made my visit.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Nicola England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »