See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 87% from 145 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a very clean facility at a great location. I had a pleasant stay at the hostel and did not have any problem getting a good sleep. One thing that it's lacking is a large common room where guests can gather. In my experience, common rooms have been a great place to meet fellow travelers and share interesting story.
  • 89%
  • 11 May 2015 Kwon Soo Canada
  • awesome place, very centrical, grand central station, empire state building, 5th ave. right around the corner, lots of restaurants and bars in the area, great atmosphere, hostal super clean at all times, very friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, free coffee, fruit and donuts in the morning (first come, first sirve, so make sure you get up at 8), free water refill at all times, our room was even equipped with tv, fridge, microwave which we didn't know or expect, super recommended
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2015 Anita Germany
  • This is the best hostel I have ever stayed with. I am often in NYC on short notice for work and will definitely book again. The staff was delightful, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms super clean (and with dispensers of soap, shampoo, and conditioner, which was wonderful because I forgot to pack mine), and I honestly wish I had the time to attend the events in the common area. Think like a bed and breakfast but not annoying and with more interesting guests. Love it!
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I really had a good time there. Good location, great staff, nice atmosphere. Free pizza, drinks and karaoke night. I really recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever met!! The staff is really awesome!! Incredible location and great amenities!
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Eduardo Mexico
  • Friendly staff, clean place, clean and confortable bunk beds. Rooms locked by keys and with lockers, so a safe feeling. A bit noisy from the street as it's the heart of the busy manhattan, but I sleep with ear plugs so it didn't affect me
  • 86%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • I really enjoyed staying here, the staff were amazing, when i had a room on the 5th floor they took both my bags upstairs for me (as there is no elevator) and they were very heavy bags! It was convenient having a fridge and microwave in our room and the beds were suprisingly comfortable! The rooms/beds were cleaned and changed over everyday which was good. There wasnt a common room which for a solo person travelling would have come in handy but the people in my room were great !
  • 94%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Everyone from the staff was very nice and the hostel provided us with very useful information about the city (a map, activities,shuttle to the airport...)
  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Meriem Morocco
  • I thought it was pretty cute that they have free pizza and karaoke or comedy on two nights of the week. Great place to stay if you're under the age of 30 and looking for a secure place to leave your stuff and explore new york. Two blocks from the lexington subway line which was convenient, not far from grand central either. I would stay here again. The beds were a little short and the room got really hot at night without the AC on, but they had an air conditioner in the window and a working TV.
  • 94%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Kathryn Canada
  • Very satisfied with our stay at this hostel. We stayed for 8 nights and have no complains. All shower rooms and toilets where cleaned every day and there is enough of them on each floor to prevent long ques. Check in and out was efficient and the staff was very helpful. The only slightly negative thing is poor sound isolation ant a lot of noise in the street outside during the night. But this is New York so I guess you just have to get used to it. Also earplugs are complementary :)
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »