See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 135 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is just in the middle of manhattan, you can walk to 5th avenue, times square and very close to the empire state building. It's clean and the staff is very friendly. They provide hot chocolate and coffee and some small donut kind of things from dunkin donut for breakfast. It's perfect for a budget stay in New york!
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • New York Budget Inn is in my top 5 hostels. The only downside couldn't be helped: a sleep-talker. Admittedly, he was sheepish/apologetic in the morning, realizing his nightmare was vocalized. Although I lost sleep, I've gotten a lot of mileage & laughs from recounting the story of hearing him whisper & wail "Help Me, Help Me!". The hostel was truly tops: clean, secure, well-located, & friendly. Highly recommended. With all hostels, be prepared to gain a story; it comes with the bargain.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Thomas USA
  • The staff in the hostel was very friendly and helpful. The place was clean and the location was located very well. The atmosphere was good. One negative point of the hostel was the fact that, despite of the good connection, it wasn't possible to connect to WiFi on most of the floors with the code they gave us (they told me it never happened to someone, but apparently other people had this problem as well). Only on the second floor, we could connect with this password.
  • 74%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I f****** love you guys
  • 100%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Jacqueline USA
  • I was blown away by what a gem this spot was! So safe, so clean, and an amazing location. Checking in and out was so simple, and the room service, complimentary towels, and free pizza and donuts made this place extra special. Overall we just loved it!
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Kelsey Canada
  • I left a flashdrive behind at front desk...while enroute to the bus station, they contacted me on phone to let me know and agreed to mail it to me, which did not interfere with my bus schedule when I departed. I appreciated that gesture.
  • 89%
  • 03 Jun 2014 john USA
  • Excellent location and clean place. Cable was a bonus. Only downside was the cleaners starting at 4am and making a lot of noise right next to my room.
  • 94%
  • 29 May 2014 Michael England
  • One of the cleanest, safest, quietest and best-located hostels I have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world. Thank you Budget Inn!!
  • 97%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • My sister and I stayed in a private double that had pleasant decor with a double bed, a sink and lockers (economic "armoire"!) desk, fridge and microwave; a very effective use of space. Staff was helpful and friendly and efficient. The Dunkin' Donuts coffee and hot cocoa provided for breakfast were good and hot. The donut holes were not worth eating. The place was quiet and the shared bathrooms available and kept tidy. We are happy to have found this place to stay!
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2014 Cynthia USA
  • Very small, but understandable considering it's New York. Location is great for the price.
  • 94%
  • 27 May 2014 Christiana USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »