See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 148 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The metal plates on the street right outside makes the traffic much more noisy than usual. I guess this is temporary. Also the room was extremely cold as cold air was coming in at the bottom of the window. Otherwise just fine - good value for money.
  • 74%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • This hostel is perfect for a short stay if you want to save money! The only thing what I would really criticise are the air conditioner. They are really loud and smell a bit but you get free ear plugs so it was okay. The location is perfect! Less than 10 minute walk to empire state building and good connection to every part of the city. Bathrooms are clean. Moreover, they offer a lot of activities so it's really nice place for especially young people (I wouldn't recommend it for families).
  • 86%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Marta Germany
  • Shout out to Rodney, Ronnie, Q and Christopher, you guys were so cool and so much fun to chat with. I loved staying at this hostel and recommend it to everyone. So clean and very quiet. Never had to wait for a bathroom either. Service was above and beyond.
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Jennifer USA
  • Loved this hostel. I stayed 5 nights and had no issues at all. It was incredibly clean and the bathrooms were well maintained. The staff were lovely and helpful and the karaoke night (Tues and Sun) was good fun! Hostel is good walking distance to the action, and only a few blocks from the Empire State Building. Would definetly stay there again.
  • 97%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Emily Australia
  • it was nice location and felt quite safe even at night as there are lots of restaurants around this hostel. but it was very noisy at night. couldnt sleep well because of sound of cars. and even window was closed cold wind still came into the room, it was extremely cold at night.
  • 71%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Excellent place to stay! Friendly staff, good rooms and facilities. Just about the best location you will get in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Luke Australia
  • O hostel é excelente!!! Estava com duas malas enormes e tanto na chegada quanto na saída, me ajudaram com as malas até a porta do taxi. Otimo atendimento, localização e tudo muito limpo. E ainda me mandaram um email falando sobre meu celular que esqueci lá. Estao de parabéns!!
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2014 RENATA Brazil
  • For price and convenience it couldn't have been better, the staff were really pleasant / willing to help and fun to talk with, the road noise was a bit loud but hey its was central NY!!! we did enough activity to sleep pretty soundly anyway.Social kareoke/pizza night was fun for an evening off our feet.Clean and well maintained. The lack of an elevator would possibly be a problem for some people but staff were happy to carry our bags up and the rest was fine for us healthy old folks.
  • 89%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Judith Leslie New Zealand
  • A fairly no-nonsense hostel, although the staff were definitely very agreeable. Great location in Middletown Manhattan, very easy to get anywhere by bus, train or even foot.
  • 94%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • No elevator. Help with the luggage only when you ask them. Breakfast was not enough for all so it was empty when we wanted one and we had to get our own. Very Good location. Room was very small. Good WiFi.
  • 66%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Larissa Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »