See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 84% from 92 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Absolutely fantastic location!! We were able to walk/commute for the 5 days that we were there to all the attractions that we wanted to see! The hostel is lovely, with comfy beds (already made - bonus!) and good sized rooms. We shared a private twin single - extra security of lockers and swipe card access. Bathrooms are shared, but there seemed to be plenty to go around (some single toilets, others including showers - all private). The hostel was clean and staff friendly :)
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2016 Ella
  • It's a great place for our budget. With an affordable price, we could stay in the midtown of Manhattan and had free breakfast + a free pizza dinner. Although the facility was not luxurious, the community bathroom is clean and the staffs are very helpful. Especially, Jose, Lorence and Manuel helped us in checking in and out process. In general, we really satisfied with our experience here.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jun 2016 Trang Vietnam
  • Very clean hostel. felt very safe and comfortable. Only concern was that a worker came into the hostel around 11:30 am every morning to check on us. Which was fine, but they just came right in. It would've been nice if they let us get the door for them to make sure we weren't changing or something. Or they could've let us known that there was a check every morning. Never had this experience at other hostels...
  • 100%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I cannot stress how important it is to stay somewhere like this on a trip to NY. It's centrally located, close to the subway and has many shops and eateries nearby incl. $1 pizza. Jennifer is also very helpful (as are other staff). 4 bed dorms are excellent - don't know about other sized rooms. Only downside is outside street noise from the "city that never sleeps". Doubt if any hostel can do anything about that so don't blame these guys for that
  • 100%
  • 28 Apr 2016 Anonymous England
  • I am really thankful with the treatment that I've received in the New York Budget Inn, specially Xavier and Jose, both Hostess. Excellent, I really reccomend.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Maria
  • New York Budget Inn is situation in Midtown Manhattan in close proximity to many of the city's main sights. For instance, the Empire State Building is only a 5 minutes walk from the hostel. To the south, Battery Park is an hour walk away, and to the north, The Met is a 45 minutes walk away. The neighborhood is packed with eating places and bars. The hostel offers everything that a traveller needs. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and they serve free coffee and donuts every morning.
  • 80%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Anonymous Denmark
  • The room was very small, but I guess that's what you pay for if you are a party of one. There was alot of noise in the hallways from 11-1 am in the morning. The public bathroom and showers were clean, which is great since they were shared by other guests. The bed was lumpy and squeeky. Overall, it was a nice place to stay the night.
  • 71%
  • 16 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • We had a really good time at New York Budget Inn. The Location is amazing, just a few minutea to the empire state building by feet. The staff helps you with everything and you can have so much fun with them. THANKS for everything Jose and Corey. Many Hugs from the German Superstars :)
  • 89%
  • 12 Apr 2016 Celine Germany
  • We were very pleased with the accommodations and have recommended it to my daughter for next time she's in NYC. Will definitely stay again
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is located within the centre of the Manhattan its just few blocks away from times Square. Overall the property is well cleaned and regular daily rooms cleaning is done. A good place to stay and is a good value for money.
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Anonymous Pakistan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »