See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 149 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great Hostel in NYC! The rooms are clean, the staff is very helpful, the bathrooms are well equipped and work fine, security is ok, they use key cards to lock doors so only guests have access, and they still have activities, tours, and can help with airport shuttles. It was a great stay. The only thing I would say are the heaters can get quite noisy when you are not used to them, but it didn't bother my sleep at all. Definitely recommended, and the location is excellent!
  • 94%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Hugo Brazil
  • it was really good hostel except noisy. I am not really sensitive person so it was ok for me, I really wanna say thank you to one of the hostel staff. He was really helped. i had one big luggage. When I checked out he helped me to take my luggage down.
  • 86%
  • 17 Mar 2015 AYOUNG South Korea
  • We would totally recommend it!
  • 89%
  • 16 Mar 2015 MARIA Venezuela
  • 4 room was roomy but the 2 room looked cramped. There is a mini fridge in the room. My room had windows but I figured others didn't. No lifts! Complimentary munchkins, hot choc, and coffee from Dunkin every morning. Lockers provided but your lock ring has to be thick enough for it to work. Location wise, it is pretty convenient. It shares the same street as the Empire State Building and walkable distance to Grand Central as well. There is Dunkin Donuts, MacDonalds and other eateries nearby
  • 86%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Overall, a decent experience. My main points of frustrations, however, was that 1) toilets were constantly clogged and 2) the complex lacked a communal microwave for residents to use.
  • 63%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was a really nice hostel!!! The only bad thing about the hostel was the heat in the room (212). We slept badly because of the heat. It was too hot and the only thing we could do was to turn on the noisy air-condition.
  • 91%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • Road traffic is very noisy, even with ear plugs, you can't get sleep. If you're keen on having a good night rest, don't stay at this hostel. No noise from the other rooms though. I slept on the 2d floor, same floor as the reception desk: very loud noise every time the front door closes (slam!) TV in the lobby too loud, you have to shout at the reception. Clean? not to my standards. Only superficial... Fridge in the room: ok! Windows can't close, so full heating while freezing outside. Eco? No!
  • 60%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anja Belgium
  • Great location, very clean helpful staff. Great value for your money.
  • 94%
  • 27 Feb 2015 John USA
  • This was an awesome hostel. Very clean. Very professional and friendly staff. The cons are: It is not a very social hostel. The common area is very small. So you don't get a chance to meet other travellers. It is also very very noisey. So bring ear plugs!
  • 94%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Here in San Francisco is really good, I am really satisfied with this hostel. Bed is good, shower is hot enough, room is nice and staff is really kind and warm. I really want to come back here again if I have chance.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Yuma Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »