See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 147 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • They should improve the breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Mauricio Costa Rica
  • Very nice staff
  • 91%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A fine experience.
  • 69%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Stefan Sweden
  • Very nice hostel and a great location. Fun bars and good restaurants next to the hostel. The staff is great. Good value for money, in New York it is a game of luck to find a decent hostel at tolerable price. Stayed in a 4-bed female dorm and made great friends there. Only thing I would add to the hostel's facilities is some sort of cooking area. Every room has a microwave but it would be nicer to warm your mac 'n' cheese in a common area rather than expose your roommates to the smell. :)
  • 86%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • The value for the price was great, as my girlfriend and I were able to rent a private room with a double bed for only $120. Sharing a bathroom was fine, as each floor had more than enough bathroom/shower combinations that I never really had to wait, and the sinks in the bedrooms were quite convenient as well. The location was only a few blocks away from the Empire State Building and the subway in Midtown, so basically perfect! Free coffee and donuts every morning and free pizza on Tuesday!
  • 89%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I spent 14 nights in this hostel and I can say it's perfect. the crew is great, the area is great, good service, very clean !!! next time I come to New York I will stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2014 David Austria
  • The noise from the street came to the room but I guess that happens everywhere in NY. Rooms and restrooms were clean and big enough, also the lockers worked well. Staff wasn't very helpful and at some point felt quite slow and not so friendly. The organized happenings at the hostel weren't promoted at all. Price was high and you had to pay extra for baggage storage, although NY in general is expensive. Location was really good.
  • 66%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anne Finland
  • Clean rooms and very kind employees. Really enjoyed my stay there!!
  • 97%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I was not informed on the bus shuttle times for the Airport so only was able to stay in the hotel for 2 hours. The staff were not very helpful and i had to pay the full amount for the room even though i was only there for 2 hours. It is definitely not value for money as the room was so small and was a tight squeeze with the amount of people in the room. The bathroom was just as small, you took one step in and you were by the toilet and shower. Not enough room at all for the four people.
  • 46%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • After staying at a really terrible hostel in Brooklyn , I was absolutely astounded to get to New York Budget Inn. Everything was clean, the staff were friendly, there was heaps of space in the rooms, the lockers were big... Just everything was so spot on. I will suggest the NYBI to anybody I know visiting New York, and I'll revisit myself. Keep up the good work!
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Daniel Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »