See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 160 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great value. Friendly staff.
  • 100%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean, that was most important to me. Staff was a little rude but that's ok. My only real complaint was it was extremely hot. Must have been 90 degrees in there. Otherwise the location is perfect and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean.
  • 89%
  • 13 Dec 2014 John USA
  • Best time I've ever had! Tuesday karaoke nights are the best. Met very exciting people from Buenos Aires and Germany, Brazil and Australia.
  • 100%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location. Friendly staff. I have to rest some points due to the lack of elevator, which makes things extremely difficult, and the almost insignificant breakfast.
  • 69%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Leandro Argentina
  • Great place for backpackers. Clean, cheap, good staff, and the location is the best. If you want to go around Manhattan this hostel is your best option, the bus stops right in front and the grand central station is a few blocks from the hostel. Great hostel.
  • 94%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Heinz USA
  • The location is pretty good. The nearest subway station is ~3 blocks (33rd St & Lex Av). $50/day is a lot for a hostel room, add 20% taxes, so it really comes down to $60/day. I'm sure you can find cheaper hostels, which may be a little far away but it should not matter because of the excellent subway services. The facilities are fine. They have shared restrooms, which means you may have to wait for a bit to get a bath. Overall, a decent safe choice. Not the best value for money though.
  • 74%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Anonymous India
  • This is a noisy hostel. My room faced the intersection of 3rd avenue and 34th street. I could not sleep well at night because of the street noise (car honks, broken steel boards, sirens). Also, the staff is unprofessional and sometimes even rude.
  • 63%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • I would likely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Stephen USA
  • This was my second stay at New York Budget Inn and I love the hostel. The location is very good, I like tje neighborhood, it is not too touristy and nice bars. The hostel is clean and the staff is nice and helpful. Working wifi is a plus and pizza night is pretty fun too.
  • 91%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • I enjoyed this hostel, however, as they were repairing the street, there was a lot of noise . I recommend it
  • 94%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Octavio Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »