See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 85% from 114 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The wifi barely worked for the majority of the times I tried to use it. The people I was sharing the room with turned the air to 79 degrees when it was 70 degrees outside. Luckily maintenance came and fixed the problem.
  • 71%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Carley USA
  • It was OK, average value for money. It was clean, the facilities worked, location was fine, not too close and not too far. It lacks common areas.
  • 71%
  • 15 Sep 2015 Florencia Argentina
  • The reason I could not enjoy stay at this hostel was the location. Midtown area is central area in Manhattan, and the hostel is located on the busy street. Therefore, it was very noisy for 24 hours (NY drivers are really aggressive, often use car horns) so we couldn't open the window of the room for the noise and dirt from the streets.
  • 57%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The availability of lockers is great, as was the hot chocolate and donuts in the morning!
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We had great stay! The staff was super friendly and the location is perfect!
  • 91%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Christina Germany
  • Great area, the breakfast in the morning is convenient. Close to a couple of subway stations. Clean rooms and bathrooms, great 24/7 security. Would definitely recommend earplugs though seeing as it is the city that never sleeps! If I'm coming back to NYC I will definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Euan England
  • Really nice, clean and well situated hostel. It is too bad that they don't have common spaces like kitchen and living room though.
  • 83%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Melisande France
  • This was mine and my husbands first experience staying in a hostel and we would definitely do it again. The staff was so friendly, helpful and very accommodating.
  • 91%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Debbie Canada
  • The Budget Inn is a nice hostel well located in lower Midtown of Manhattan. Within 8min you can reach a subway station of the green line which connects downtown Manhattan with the Grand Central Terminal. I was in a 4 dorm mix accomodation with an ensuited bathroom. Since I experienced lines in front of the shared bathrooms in the hallway I would definitively recommend the ensuited room. I chose this hostels based on the previous reviews an I must say that it met my expectation
  • 80%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Sebastian Germany
  • Really good location for the price, and very good facilities considering that this is a hostel!
  • 89%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »