See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 86% from 128 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • it was nice location and felt quite safe even at night as there are lots of restaurants around this hostel. but it was very noisy at night. couldnt sleep well because of sound of cars. and even window was closed cold wind still came into the room, it was extremely cold at night.
  • 71%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Excellent place to stay! Friendly staff, good rooms and facilities. Just about the best location you will get in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Luke Australia
  • O hostel é excelente!!! Estava com duas malas enormes e tanto na chegada quanto na saída, me ajudaram com as malas até a porta do taxi. Otimo atendimento, localização e tudo muito limpo. E ainda me mandaram um email falando sobre meu celular que esqueci lá. Estao de parabéns!!
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2014 RENATA Brazil
  • For price and convenience it couldn't have been better, the staff were really pleasant / willing to help and fun to talk with, the road noise was a bit loud but hey its was central NY!!! we did enough activity to sleep pretty soundly anyway.Social kareoke/pizza night was fun for an evening off our feet.Clean and well maintained. The lack of an elevator would possibly be a problem for some people but staff were happy to carry our bags up and the rest was fine for us healthy old folks.
  • 89%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Judith Leslie New Zealand
  • As far as hostels in general go, not great at all but this is New York City we are talking about, where everything is overpriced. So you get good bang for your buck considering. Staff is not very accommodating at all (though some are nicer than others of course) The fact that you have to take stairs is a drag but it's pretty clean . Some rooms are quiet some are loud. All things considered not bad.
  • 71%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A fairly no-nonsense hostel, although the staff were definitely very agreeable. Great location in Middletown Manhattan, very easy to get anywhere by bus, train or even foot.
  • 94%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • No elevator. Help with the luggage only when you ask them. Breakfast was not enough for all so it was empty when we wanted one and we had to get our own. Very Good location. Room was very small. Good WiFi.
  • 66%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Larissa Germany
  • Good value for the money overall. I know space is at a premium in Manhattan, but the bathroom was just too small. Curious to find a "mixed dorm" situation in the 4-person room; I roomed with 3 Ozzie girtls who were polite and even welcoming. I hope they weren't too unsettled by the addition of a mere male in their midst for two nights.
  • 80%
  • 28 Sep 2014 David USA
  • Very accommodating staff, good value for money, convenient location, no complaints, will recommend & stay again!!
  • 86%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent hostel, staff was very friendly and helpful. I will make sure to recommend this hostel to everyone I know!
  • 100%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »