See other New York properties

New York Budget Inn

200 East 34th St., New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 87% from 159 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the staff was very low service-mind, lack of good manner.
  • 63%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Good location, friendly staff, clean facilities. The only problem - the rooms and corridors smelled bad.
  • 80%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous Bangladesh
  • Very clean, friendly staff. Would recommend, but maybe institute "quiet hours"?
  • 83%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Holly USA
  • I'd stayed a different Hostel the night before and was very unhappy. The people here were very friendly and helpful, such a nice experience. I will skip the other placew and come back here next time.
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Neil USA
  • Clean hostel at an excellent location. As a downside the window of our room did not open and faced a wall of the adjacent building. We had to have the AC on all night because a hot water tube inside the room made it hot. The bathrooms were very clean a spacious. If you woke u early there is free coffee and donuts.
  • 86%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Couldn't recommend more. The staff are fantastic. Instead of one large bathroom/shower room there are several private bathrooms which is much better. Free computers in the lobby, most hostels have pay computers. The private room was tiny but that's standard and it had a TV with cable and a comfy bed. Last time in NYC this was full(not surprising) so I stayed at a horrible hostel(hint, it rhymes with schmelsea) and I missed this place badly. Next time I'll book earlier and come back here.
  • 100%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Dan Canada
  • Good hostel, felt secure and clean. Great location! We stayed for a week. The bed was really hard, didnt get any good sleep.
  • 71%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Most of the staff are absolutely lovely and really want to be there for the customer and help in any way they can. Location is great, with a short distance to public transportation. The lack of commonroom will hopefully be fixed at some stage!
  • 83%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Kimmo Finland
  • I was in the area for only a couple of days so this hostel was prime. The price and location were off the charts. The staff was also great, Rodney in particular made his guests feel at home. Will definitely be coming back when I'm back in Manhattan!
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • No internet access my first night. Very clean facilities. Lack of common facilities is a negative.
  • 77%
  • 26 Mar 2014 thomas USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »