See other Ho Chi Minh properties

NgocThao GuestHouse

241/4 Pham Ngu Lao.St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 90% from 18 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff members smiled a lot. They treated you like family.
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great value for your money. I only marked it down a little because there were better hostels around that were renovated and had a balcony (10 people to a dorm). You also got free beer elsewhere. Although for a four-person dorm, the price was excellent. The included breakfast was also better than most places I'd been to. Very nice staff, the nice lady at the front really cared.
  • 86%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Great place in the heart of district 1. close to everything. Free breakfast was simple and tasty. Also free water and coffee all day. The sleeping area on the 5th floor was a bit of a climb but there is a small balcony with which you can chill out and talk after a long day in the sweltering heat of Saigon. The best part of the hostel was the staff! Super helpful, honest, and truly likeable people. Thanks to Thu, Doris and the rest of the staff! I will be back there again, when I return to Saigon
  • 97%
  • 03 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Really helpful staff, they couldn't be nicer! Be sure to ask for the free drink tokens in their 'sister hostel', beers on a rooftop bar are a great way to start off Ho Chi Minh. We also did a tour organised by the hostel, a day to the Mekong delta, and really enjoyed that too. Would definitely recommend! Clean, comfortable, within walking distance of everything we wanted.
  • 100%
  • 04 Jan 2015 catherine Ireland
  • The best hostel I stayed at in Vietnam. Great for people who aren't necessarily looking to party but want to meet and socialize with other travelers. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is good, and they offer plenty of tours. And the location is right in the middle of things - you don't have to walk far to find good street food. Ngoc, the owner, is incredibly sweet and helpful. I recommend springing for an airport pickup, as the hostel is in a bustling, narrow alley and is a little hard to find.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really nice place driven by super friendly and super helpful people! The staff in this place can help you with anything you might need! We stayed in a double room that was simple and clean, the doorms looked good aswell!
  • 97%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Good location being about 1km from the major sights in the city. Facilities and a little old, but acceptable. Staff has good English skills and are helpful and friendly.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Only a few complains--felt the hostel was a bit pricy, no elevator and a small hang out space. But if you do find yourself booking here, there is a great street down the alley way where a ton of backpackers/locals all sit and drink 50 cent beers on the sidewalk. The family that runs the place is nice and they'll help you book day trips out of the city and maybe teach you a bit of vietnamese.
  • 86%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were so friendly and offered to help my brother while he was feeling ill. They made up some ginger tea and brought it to the room. Made us feel and at home.
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2014 Leah USA
  • A really nice, clean little hostel right in the middle of the backpacker area, and (just about!) walking distance to all the sights - ok, 30 minutes maybe, but it's a super interesting walk! Staff are really really helpful, they can't do enough to help!, and the free breakfast (if you are awake early enough!) is light and nice. The shower/toilet combo surprised me - but the loo roll is protected from getting wet!! Only downside was the noisy air con and fan - but earplugs fixed that!
  • 97%
  • 03 May 2014 Justine Wales
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »