See other Ho Chi Minh properties

NgocThao GuestHouse

241/4 Pham Ngu Lao.St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 94% from 14 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 97%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really nice place driven by super friendly and super helpful people! The staff in this place can help you with anything you might need! We stayed in a double room that was simple and clean, the doorms looked good aswell!
  • 97%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Good location being about 1km from the major sights in the city. Facilities and a little old, but acceptable. Staff has good English skills and are helpful and friendly.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Only a few complains--felt the hostel was a bit pricy, no elevator and a small hang out space. But if you do find yourself booking here, there is a great street down the alley way where a ton of backpackers/locals all sit and drink 50 cent beers on the sidewalk. The family that runs the place is nice and they'll help you book day trips out of the city and maybe teach you a bit of vietnamese.
  • 86%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were so friendly and offered to help my brother while he was feeling ill. They made up some ginger tea and brought it to the room. Made us feel and at home.
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2014 Leah USA
  • A really nice, clean little hostel right in the middle of the backpacker area, and (just about!) walking distance to all the sights - ok, 30 minutes maybe, but it's a super interesting walk! Staff are really really helpful, they can't do enough to help!, and the free breakfast (if you are awake early enough!) is light and nice. The shower/toilet combo surprised me - but the loo roll is protected from getting wet!! Only downside was the noisy air con and fan - but earplugs fixed that!
  • 97%
  • 03 May 2014 Justine Wales
  • I enjoyed my stay at NgocThao. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and the breakfast very good.
  • 100%
  • 02 May 2014 Kimberly USA
  • This was our second stay - we loved it so much we came back! The family is so helpful and friendly, the location is perfect, the rooms are always clean, and the free coffee/water is a nice touch. This time they had free breakfast with several options (our first visit must have been during low season). Thank you, we hope to see you again someday!
  • 100%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Beds creaked a little too much...
  • 91%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Daniel Canada
  • The staff are very nice and helpful. The hostel located in the alley which is not easy to find. I wish there are elevator. I lived in a dormitory on 4th Floor, it is a bit tired for me to go up an down.
  • 80%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • great family hotel. very friendly staff. very good for arranging tour for people. 4 bed dorms have private bathroom! double bed room is also great. 100% recomendable
  • 94%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Sarah Venezuela
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »