See other Galway properties

Nimmos Hostel

1 Upper Dominick Street, Galway, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 66% from 18 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The guy who run the hostel was unfriendly, creepy and scary. He did not take us serious. For what we got 25€ per night was way too expensive!!!!!! I would not even stay there without paying ever again. We were so glad when we finally could leave. It also smelled bad. Whatever, we survived it...luckily. I have never seen such a disgusting and dirty place that is allowed to call itself a hostel in my life -> unbelievable.
  • 31%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Eva Maria Austria
  • Such a nice atmosphere, the man who runs it is so lovely!
  • 94%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • I'd mention that since there are a few pubs around the area is a bit noisy, but very good overall. Landlord has been very kind and friendly.
  • 69%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Pablo Spain
  • Heavy rain caused ongoing water leak coming thru top floor bedroom ceiling. Loud noise frm nearby bars/clubs into early hours disrupts sleep so maybe thicker glazed windows? Bedrooms should only be accessible to guests assigned to their own particular room and maybe combination codelock at Main Entrance should be updated daily in the interests of security. More Common Use facilities like TV/Pool/Bookcase/Boardgames/Vending machines/PC for Internet. Cheer up the entrance hall/stairwells as shabby
  • 69%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • If you need a cheap accommodation, then nimmos is the best. Kitchen is good. Toilet is not that much clean.
  • 69%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Ramsankar India
  • We don't agree with the idea of a Roman numeral security lock on the door! Although we know the basics, the door wouldn't open. Very loud at night despite the windows being closed. We'd prefer that rooms were same sex. On the plus side the beds were reasonably comfortable. Stairs and landing are very untidy and the place could do with a big refreshment. Of course it was value for the little money we paid for the night but could really see how this place would benefit for a little TLC
  • 54%
  • 21 Mar 2015 donna Ireland
  • The place was cheap but with some negative aspects according to the room. Like the windows didnt close completely. It did get a lil bit cold in the roo.
  • 60%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Andreas Austria
  • First impression is quite bad, it gets better once you adapt. Security is bad. Bathrooms are dirty, and you have to plan and organize yourself carefully once you decide you're gonna take a shower. There's no place to put your stuff, except to take your clothes literally inside the shower with you. Cold and damp, throughout. I reckon it's good if you're only in town to have some fun for a night or two. Otherwise, you'll probably want to feel more comfortable.
  • 60%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Jelena Croatia
  • The hostel was really well located and the staff very nice. However the bathroom wasn't so clean, especially the showers. No possibility of locking the door for the shower, you could see the shape of people using them (even though you couldn't see the body clearly it still didn't feel great to use the shower) and no place to put your clothes or towel while showering. Bad smell when you enter the hostel but doesn't smell bad in the rest of the place.
  • 83%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous France
  • Nimmos has huge potential in my view but a few things could still be improved. However; Main Entrance, Hallways, Stairwells all need bright refreshing lick of paint and removal of worn away carpets as they bring down the tone as you arrive. Windows need to be Dbl-glazed as very loud noise from pub-goers outside til 4am. Dorm bedroom doors should not be unlocked for anyone to gain entry! Breakfast should also be included in rates and a TV would be a welcome addition in the sofa seating area.
  • 60%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »