See other Wellington properties

Nomads Capital Backpackers

118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 12 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is the only good thing about this hostel. The booking confirmation email had a cost estimate for the airport to city, which ended up being incorrect and we found out later that there was a much cheaper way of getting to the city. The wifi was broken for 24 hours of our stay, and once it was fixed it was not free which it really should be considering the price of the rooms. The room card had to be reset once a day and I found the staff were not very helpful.
  • 63%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Don't go there! The fan was making a lot of noise, our food got stolen, the beds were very uncomfortable, not enough showers, the key cards had to be reset five times a day. And the staff were really unhelpful. Not service minded at all. We wouldn't look at Nomads for accommodation anymore.
  • 54%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • All a backpacker needs!
  • 80%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel was a very good facility with very happy and accomodating staff. I would most certainly recommend a stay at Wellington's Nomad hostel. The adjoining bar/restaurant is also a good place to spend time at with good food and well priced drinks.
  • 80%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Mark Australia
  • *Nothing to dislike about it.
  • 83%
  • 07 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • A pretty good hostel. Quite a few long-term people in the dorms, though. Definitely a social atmosphere, so don't stay here if you can't put up with loud, annoying partiers...I woke up (well, never really slept at all) to see two people passed out on the floor in the dorm in the morning and vomit in the hallway. Other than that, the location is great and the staff are helpful.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Central location but quite anonymous and tiny kitchen. And for this price, wifi should be included. Really a shame that you have to pay for that.
  • 69%
  • 18 May 2013 Kathleen Germany
  • Our dorm was great value compared to other hostels as it included a TV and ensuite and was very clean too. Staff are always cheery and super helpful, no matter what time of night! I would definately stay at Nomads again!
  • 91%
  • 24 Apr 2013 Amber Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »