See other Tokyo properties

Oak Hostel

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 87% from 32 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was going to write a review for this hotel, but there aren't enough characters to do so.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Joseph England
  • Great Place :D Very good location as it is reachable by JR train. Very helpful staff speaking good English. Good internet connection. Lots of lockers available.
  • 100%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • An absolutely fantastic place to stay right in the heart of Tokyo! Welcoming and friendly staff who were more than happy to answer any questions I had about the area, not to mention the selection of homemade sightseeing guides provided by the hotel! I simply cannot recommend the Oak Hotel enough, a wonderful place to stay and I'll definitely try to return soon!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • The instalations are nice, housekeeping is good and the hostel staff is outstanding. Serious, everyone in the teamis kind, gentle and praise for our confort, security and to enjoy the stay. When I back to Tokyo, certantly I will back to Oak Hostel. And the halloween party was very nice.
  • 86%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Mario Brazil
  • The staff was really nice. The room was clean. I loved the sushi evening- it was so delicious! On our next trip we'll come again.
  • 83%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Sonja Germany
  • Room was VERY small, but not really an issue as a solo traveller! Got a good deal for a room in Tokyo, so not complaining that much, especially considering how little time I spent in the room. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English.
  • 89%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very friendly staff, well maintained and great location (5 mins from Inaricho station and 10 mins from Ueno station). Also close to Sensoji temple and to many other Asakusa attractions ! I'd definitely recommend it to others.
  • 83%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Adam Morocco
  • This hostel is wonderful! Great location (very close to the Inaricho subway stop in Ueno, within walking distance of Asakusa and Ueno Park), wonderful staff (excellent English, went above and beyond to help me), excellent facilities (very clean and secure). I have traveled extensively in East Asia, and this was probably the best experience I have had at a hostel. My private room provided many of the amenities of a hotel at a very reasonable price for Tokyo. I will definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Joshua USA
  • Everyone was nice and courteous towards us. The room was kept very clean, despite our large amount of luggage. Thank you!
  • 86%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Really nice hostel. Only downfall is that it is more like a hotel and there is only a small communal area, in additional, not many activities are organized so all these things make it harder to meet new people. During my 6 day stay, 1 activity was organized (which was awesome and very well organized!).
  • 80%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »