See other Tokyo properties

Oak Hostel

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 85% from 22 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I will stay there again it's the best. Like a small hotel.
  • 97%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent place to stay! Staffs are great and very helpful. Location is very near to the major train station. The room is small to western standard but good and comfy.
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Korakot Thailand
  • Fantastic in all respects, highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were very friendly, spoke English well and were willing to help. Best thing about staying in hostels in getting to meet other travellers, unfortunately there was no decent common room/area/bar for this here. Rooms a bit on the small side but all in all, not overpriced. Subway station located nearby, as well as Ueno Station.
  • 69%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The staff is the best part of this establishment. Warm friendly and always ready to lend a hand when you have silly questions. The location is not super great, but for the money the proximity to Ueno and Ahkiabara is great. My main complaint is that the wifi was not working in the rooms during my stay.
  • 77%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Bryan USA
  • I have stayed there on two separate occasions. Both times the rooms have been clean, and the staff have been helpful. For the price you would be hard pressed to find something better.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • the bed was terrible
  • 63%
  • 23 Dec 2013 oscar Sweden
  • If i have oppurrunity to come back to tokyo. I will choose oak hotel to stay. The environment is great, good idea to sleep with javaness bed, the wifi is helpfull and the staff are informatif.
  • 97%
  • 11 Dec 2013 Fransisca Indonesia
  • English speaking staff was helpful. Located near JR Ueno station. Within walking distance of Asakusa and Akihabara.
  • 74%
  • 06 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I stayed there 2 nights. Everything was good. Ths hotel was located only two blocks away from a metro station. But there was no good restaurant near by. I would definately stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Yongsurk South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »