See other Tokyo properties

Oak Hostel

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 88% from 32 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Room was VERY small, but not really an issue as a solo traveller! Got a good deal for a room in Tokyo, so not complaining that much, especially considering how little time I spent in the room. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English.
  • 89%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very friendly staff, well maintained and great location (5 mins from Inaricho station and 10 mins from Ueno station). Also close to Sensoji temple and to many other Asakusa attractions ! I'd definitely recommend it to others.
  • 83%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Adam Morocco
  • This hostel is wonderful! Great location (very close to the Inaricho subway stop in Ueno, within walking distance of Asakusa and Ueno Park), wonderful staff (excellent English, went above and beyond to help me), excellent facilities (very clean and secure). I have traveled extensively in East Asia, and this was probably the best experience I have had at a hostel. My private room provided many of the amenities of a hotel at a very reasonable price for Tokyo. I will definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Joshua USA
  • Everyone was nice and courteous towards us. The room was kept very clean, despite our large amount of luggage. Thank you!
  • 86%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Really nice hostel. Only downfall is that it is more like a hotel and there is only a small communal area, in additional, not many activities are organized so all these things make it harder to meet new people. During my 6 day stay, 1 activity was organized (which was awesome and very well organized!).
  • 80%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Really friendly staff and a great base for exploring Tokyo.
  • 91%
  • 10 Jul 2014 william Australia
  • Oak Hostel was a great place to stay. Nice and close to a station which connected us with all of Tokyo. Really friendly staff and had everything you needed!
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Scott Australia
  • The Oak Hotel was great. Very easy to find, in a great area of Asakusa street. Lots of restaurants nearby, 2 minutes from Inaricho, and only 10 from Ueno if you only have a JR Pass. Staff is great, room was clean, and the only problem we had was that there really isn't a big common area, which would be a great place to meet other travelers. Overall, an excellent experience.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Bobby USA
  • I thought that although the location was a little far from the main attractions like Shinjuku, Shibuya and Roppongi, once you get a hold of the train system, it made up for the distance. Just need to buy the 1000 yen one day pass to get around. However, the area itself was peaceful night or day and within a 15 to 20 minute walk to the Sky tree. The facilities needed a little updating but for the price and size of the private room it was excellent. Also, the wifi worked perfect.
  • 94%
  • 06 May 2014 Jose
  • Good Wi-Fi coverage, clean room & toilet, relaxing public lobby, near to train station.
  • 74%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »