See other Tokyo properties

Oak Hostel

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 86% from 23 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No real feelings of getting people to socialise or speak. So not much atmosphere, pretty close to the sky tree and the biggest buddist temple in toyko. There are some good cheap shopping areas close to the temple so thats a bonus, lots of restaurants. And close to subway station, so yeah good location. Wifi not the best. The bathroom in the 4 bed make dorm was tiny but not big problem. Beds comfortable and clean. Staff english good and helpful when you need it.
  • 69%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Blair Japan
  • Great location 10 min walk to Ueno station. Friendly and helpful receptionists with suggestions on how to get around the city and tourist spots. Rooms are fairly small but very clean.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Hao New Zealand
  • I liked Oak Hotel primarily because of it's value and location. I would definitely stay there again. The Japanese style room is small but clean and cozy. The staff were very helpful and even called a venue to help me figure out reservations. There is helpful information at the front desk too. If you are looking for a very social kind of hostel, the common space is a bit small.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2015 paul USA
  • Great stay! Private room is small (especially the bathroom!) but this is Tokyo. There was some construction going on while we were there but as we were hardly in the hostel during the day, it wasn't a problem. Lots of information posted around the hostel. Good facilities. Easy walking distance from Ueno JR Station or the subway. Would use again.
  • 74%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Booked two 1p rooms consecutively. Both the Japanese and western style rooms had hair left in the bathtub drain and so much dirt under the bed that I doubt anyone ever looked there. When I confronted the staff with it, they gave me another similar room which was clean. The staff spoke English, was helpful & cheerful, and there's excell WiFi. Bathrooms are small and leak water on the floor. Airco stinks so much that I turned it off, but rooms were cool enough anyway.
  • 71%
  • 29 May 2015 Jasper Netherlands
  • Blazing wifi. Very clean.
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The bathroom for the 4 bed female dorm room was absolutely too tiny for four women to use. The location was hard to find and not close to a JR station, especially when you're carrying large suitcases on foot. The beds were uncomfortable. However, I guess you get what you pay for, so it was OK for the 5 days we had in Tokyo. But if I ever come back to Tokyo, I will find other accommodations.
  • 54%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel lacks some conviviality (no common room, only a couple tables in the reception). Bathrooms could do with some renovations. But price is okay for Tokyo and the location is good (less than 5 minutes walk from the closest metro station, but like most hostels in tokyo it's far from the party districts). Not as good as Khaosan hostels. Helpful staff, but some of them don't speak much English.
  • 74%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Matthieu France
  • Very friendy place. Had to walk a bit and ask around to get to; If you de-train from Inaricho station and you're looking at a McDonald's, walk to your left one block and it's on the left. You'll see it through some buildins on the next parallel street over. Super friendly staff and willing to hold onto luggage for a day since my flight was late at night.
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Alexander USA
  • Very hard to find
  • 89%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »