See other Tokyo properties

Oak Hostel

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 88% from 28 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendy place. Had to walk a bit and ask around to get to; If you de-train from Inaricho station and you're looking at a McDonald's, walk to your left one block and it's on the left. You'll see it through some buildins on the next parallel street over. Super friendly staff and willing to hold onto luggage for a day since my flight was late at night.
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Alexander USA
  • Very hard to find
  • 89%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • One of the best hostels that I've ever used, Oak Hostel's staff were friendly, kind, and extremely helpful, even at late hours. The hostel's location is perfect, with fast access to great locations like Ueno Park, Sensoji Temple, Tokyo Skytree, and Akihabara. It's also easy to get to the Tokyo Metro, JR Rail, and Narita Airport via the Skyliner. A huge bonus was the generous amount of information on getting around, restaurants, and shopping. All-around, it's a fantastic place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • All the staff are nice, helpful and always smiling. Good value, a gem in the center of Tokyo. Will be back soon!
  • 97%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Richard Philippines
  • The best experience of my life. The location is really good. The best part of this hostel is the staff. Since i arrived till i check out 20 days later i felt that i was with family or friends. Really was the best!
  • 100%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Federico Argentina
  • Super clean, super polite, helpful and nice staff, the four bed female dorm with the en suite bathroom was very convenient and had lots of nice amenities like lockers big enough for backpacks and a hairdryer you could use and a tv and a heater which worked great. Great place!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was going to write a review for this hotel, but there aren't enough characters to do so.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Joseph England
  • Great Place :D Very good location as it is reachable by JR train. Very helpful staff speaking good English. Good internet connection. Lots of lockers available.
  • 100%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • An absolutely fantastic place to stay right in the heart of Tokyo! Welcoming and friendly staff who were more than happy to answer any questions I had about the area, not to mention the selection of homemade sightseeing guides provided by the hotel! I simply cannot recommend the Oak Hotel enough, a wonderful place to stay and I'll definitely try to return soon!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • The instalations are nice, housekeeping is good and the hostel staff is outstanding. Serious, everyone in the teamis kind, gentle and praise for our confort, security and to enjoy the stay. When I back to Tokyo, certantly I will back to Oak Hostel. And the halloween party was very nice.
  • 86%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Mario Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »