See other Tokyo properties

Oak Hostel

6-1-2 Higashiueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 87% from 29 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Blazing wifi. Very clean.
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The bathroom for the 4 bed female dorm room was absolutely too tiny for four women to use. The location was hard to find and not close to a JR station, especially when you're carrying large suitcases on foot. The beds were uncomfortable. However, I guess you get what you pay for, so it was OK for the 5 days we had in Tokyo. But if I ever come back to Tokyo, I will find other accommodations.
  • 54%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel lacks some conviviality (no common room, only a couple tables in the reception). Bathrooms could do with some renovations. But price is okay for Tokyo and the location is good (less than 5 minutes walk from the closest metro station, but like most hostels in tokyo it's far from the party districts). Not as good as Khaosan hostels. Helpful staff, but some of them don't speak much English.
  • 74%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Matthieu France
  • Very friendy place. Had to walk a bit and ask around to get to; If you de-train from Inaricho station and you're looking at a McDonald's, walk to your left one block and it's on the left. You'll see it through some buildins on the next parallel street over. Super friendly staff and willing to hold onto luggage for a day since my flight was late at night.
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Alexander USA
  • Very hard to find
  • 89%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • One of the best hostels that I've ever used, Oak Hostel's staff were friendly, kind, and extremely helpful, even at late hours. The hostel's location is perfect, with fast access to great locations like Ueno Park, Sensoji Temple, Tokyo Skytree, and Akihabara. It's also easy to get to the Tokyo Metro, JR Rail, and Narita Airport via the Skyliner. A huge bonus was the generous amount of information on getting around, restaurants, and shopping. All-around, it's a fantastic place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • All the staff are nice, helpful and always smiling. Good value, a gem in the center of Tokyo. Will be back soon!
  • 97%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Richard Philippines
  • The best experience of my life. The location is really good. The best part of this hostel is the staff. Since i arrived till i check out 20 days later i felt that i was with family or friends. Really was the best!
  • 100%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Federico Argentina
  • Super clean, super polite, helpful and nice staff, the four bed female dorm with the en suite bathroom was very convenient and had lots of nice amenities like lockers big enough for backpacks and a hairdryer you could use and a tv and a heater which worked great. Great place!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was going to write a review for this hotel, but there aren't enough characters to do so.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Joseph England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »