See other Istanbul properties

Old City Hostel

Bestekar Osman Sokak,no :9 Divanyolu Cadeesi, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 87% from 16 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The owner and the people that work there are very nice. The stairs are very steep & twist, so you need to be careful, there is no elevator. The breakfast is served on the 4th floor where there is a great view of the Blue Mosque. We arrived at 11 p.m., and the water did not work in the bathroom. We thought we would find another place to stay the next day, but it started working in the morning. We told the owner & he said it's a problem they're having in the whole area.
  • 69%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everyone was super nice and we felt very safe while there. Had a blast and felt it was probably the best located hotel in Istanbul. You don't have to use public transportation unless u want too everything is close.
  • 100%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 主人が良くしてくれた。家族経営だが、皆親切。ナイトライフを希望する際は、是非オーナーに相談されたし。素敵な体験ができます。
  • 74%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Chiharu Japan
  • Old City Hostel is in the perfect location to see all of the historical sights Istanbul has to offer. It's a moderate walk to everywhere you need to go and a block away from the nearest tram stop. The staff were friendly, very helpful and were always around. The hostel was very clean and well kept. This is a great hostel if you're looking for a quiet place in the heart of a very lively city.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Amanda USA
  • This is a great hostel at the perfect location. Riffet, the proprietor is extremely helpful. Overall a clean, safe and cheap place at a fantastic price. Highly recommended for young travellers. Additionally, the rooftop terrace was quite enjoyable with a great view of the Blue Mosque.
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2014 Syed Taha Pakistan
  • Great vibes and atmosphere, the staff is awesome, the terrace is unbeatable. Had a great time drinking tea and playing tavla.
  • 91%
  • 01 May 2014 Tamara Argentina
  • As good as hostels can get.
  • 97%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Alexandru Ioan Romania
  • Conveniently located - famous spots are just minutes away and the neighborhood is safe during night. The rooms and beds are clean and tidy which i love so much. Hot shower, hairdryer and heater available. Felt like home during my stay.
  • 91%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Charlene Hong Kong
  • Every in the hostel was really nice, the dorms, the atmosphere, the yummy breakfast with black and green olives, the excelent attention provide for Mr. Rifal and the young man Mr. FERNANDO GONZALEZ was awsome. I spend a lot of time just chilling in the cousy terrace seeing the Bosforo and the Blue Mosque. I definitely recomend this hostel, the best in Istambul. PS: if Mr. Rifal tell you about prices of tours to Capadocia or Troy, you must believe, there's no better price. Es estar como en casa!
  • 100%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Anonymous Peru
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »