See other Philadelphia properties

Old City Philly House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 91% from 110 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This has been the most engaging hostel I have stayed at in my entire 2 month trip of the USA. I felt as those I was staying at a friend's house from the moment I checked in. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and this warm atmosphere resonates throughout the entirety of the hostel. Location was fantastic, walking distance to attractions or bus stops if you're looking to head further out. I was able to cook my own meals in the kitchen and they also had hot showers!
  • 91%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Eloisa Australia
  • Really enjoyed our stay with you guys!
  • 89%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Markus Germany
  • Very old house, squeaky floor, pretty crowded. Noisy inside the room if anyone is talking in hallway.
  • 66%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Chao-han Taiwan
  • The atmosphere is so nice. I met my love there and we became couple! Is that sweet? Thank you Philly House, where our crush started : )
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Anonymous China
  • My favorite hostel so far!! If you are ever in Philly this hostel is the one to go! Great atmosphere, location and accomodations! It's a home away from home.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • The hotel is OK. the decoration is good. But it requires you to take off shoes wthout providing slippers. It's so cold to walk on floor especially during night. They don't have big lockers to deposit your luggage. They don't have computers. The bathroom is too small. When people are brushing teeth outside the bathroom, it's hard for another person to walk by no matter how tiny you are. There is no outlet for everybed. For those who stayed in the upper deck, they have to go up and downs to charge
  • 60%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous China
  • I had a great stay at the Philadelphia House. The staff was very helpful, friendly and all in all really fantastic. We had a lot of fun because they organized daily events like going out together or having dinner which was cooked by the staff and tasted very good. The location was pretty good, as well, cause u could reach Downtown by foot. The only thing that was a little unpleasant was that the hot water didn't run after a couple of people had showers but apart from that everything was great:-)
  • 91%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Mariann Germany
  • Such a fantastic stay at Philadelphia House. The staff are all so friendly and a lot of fun. They all live in the hostel so there are always people hanging out in the lounge. The staff host nightly events that are not based around drinking! The house is very clean, especially the toilet and bathrooms. There is constantly someone cleaning, it's as if you jump out of the shower and they clean it right away. Would definitely recommend very highly.
  • 97%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Jono New Zealand
  • This hostel is simply awesome, very friendly staff and clean cozy environment. The only cons is the size of the room, rooms are very small :(
  • 94%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous Pakistan
  • The staff was super friendly and helpful! Everything was clean and the quiet hours were perfect so that everyone could get a good night's sleep.
  • 97%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »