See other Philadelphia properties

Old City Philly House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 92% from 122 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel may be small but it houses some of the friendliest staff (Bill, Austin, Valerie) I've met as well as having a very welcoming atmosphere. They also have some hostel events that add to its homeliness. Definitely stay here if you ever drop by Philly!
  • 100%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Thank you for being so welcoming!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Olivia USA
  • I can't say enough good things about this hostel! All the staff are absolutely fantastic, consistently helpful and friendly. They go out of their way to give you good information and organise social stuff for guests. Good location and easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. Beds comfy, kitchen well equipped and really wonderfully clean and homely (I'm a big fan of the no shoes rule). Only negative was that the air con wasn't working so it got pretty toasty at night.
  • 97%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • The Philadelphia House was awesome! The staff were very friendly and helpful; the location was great; the hostel was clean and inviting. All in all I would love to stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous
  • Great Hostel, Great Staff!
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Wim Netherlands
  • Friendly and helpful staff is always what matters when it comes to backpacking stays. I'm glad that every staff member I met at Philadelphia House was nice and willing to help (even after I checked out)! Will definitely choose to stay there on my next visit to Philly.
  • 89%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The hostel is awesome. It makes you feel like a home. All staffs are very friendly and willing to help. Since the hostel was overbooked, they tried very hard to help my friend to find another hostel nearby. The rooms are clean and the price is also good too. If I will have another chance to visit Philadelphia, I will definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • What can I say about this hostel? Awesome atmosphere, filled with an eclectic mix of domestic and international travelers with on-site local staff. The manager was extremely helpful in making my stay extraordinary, and I am very grateful for that. Usually I get hostels for a cheap central location to crash at night, but this hostel truly provided much more. Definitely one of the top hostels I have ever stayed in.
  • 97%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff are nice, I like the atmosphere there
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Really good hostel, staff is really nice and take the time to show you what to do in the city. Events are organized every day inside or outside the hostel. Small hostel so you can easily meet other travellers. The only bad point in my opinion would be the big tv screen in the middle of the main room because it kills conversations between travellers! Location is good, 5-10 min walking from the subway and the independance park.
  • 86%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Camille France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »