See other Dublin properties

Oliver St. John Gogarty

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 69% from 22 reviews

  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I wish the room was a bit bigger. Temple Bar area alive until 3am, so sleep was sometimes difficult. Overall, a friendly, clean, accommodating hostel in a great area of Dublin. was an easy And straight-forward site to navigate.
  • 91%
  • 17 Aug 2015 David and Kathleen Canada
  • No Wifi, Regardless of What they say Very loud location, the room was next to a late night bar, and was noisy until past 2 a.m. Wifi was non-existent The Staff were mostly helpful, Except one guy who just wasn't very welcoming, the Bathrooms were sticky and greasy and generally dirty, the Wifi did not work the TV room Closed at 11pm, (the only place you could get Wifi (from Neighboring pub) ) The Showers were cold, and only lasted for literally 15 seconds There was no bloody WIfi
  • 63%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Dave Ireland
  • Good breakfast. Some staff were not very helpful.excellent location.the floor was not very clean but all the rest was.
  • 69%
  • 17 May 2015 vanessa Portugal
  • The atmosphere was quite cool in the reception. Also, despite the fact that you can go straight into the bar downstairs, upstairs no one really seemed to be hanging out together or mingling, but perhaps that was just my experience. What really ticked me off, was the fact that they charged me for my first night straight off the credit card I paid the deposit with without asking for my consent. Also waiting for an hour and a half inbetween changing rooms with no place to secure my bags.
  • 54%
  • 16 May 2015 Mike Poland
  • Almost no power outlets in room.
  • 66%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The worst hostel in Dublin. I had to change room, because of staff's mistake. but she was not saying any words about sorry. and I asked staff to alloate lower bad. staff said "there are no available bed." but I was a first guest check in, when I entered room, no beds occupied. except for awful staff problem, almost thing is terrible. this hostel offer a key per room nor per person. it's common to open the room door toilet flush was not working, big noisy! Terrible!
  • 29%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was a really nice time there. The only problem I had is you can go throw the kitchen door in the pub. But is was okay. The rrom was great and clean we only had little problems with the shower and hot waterbut it was fine. The Hostel is directly in the City everything is near. It wasn't to loud. the obly thing in the ten bed room was we only had one key...
  • 77%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Anneka Germany
  • If you just want a place to stay after partying the whole night, it might be OK. But for a normal tourist, the street is way too loud to get more than one hour sleep @night. The Bathroom was that dirty that you couldn't move barfeet inside. The water from the shower was 3,5 from 4 days I've stayed ice cold, when we ask them to fix it, it took one more day to take aktion for them and the shower was warm for only 5 hours. Breakfast is toast and cereals, but mostly not finished at opening time.
  • 51%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Rebecca Germany
  • The lady at the reception was really nice and helpful. They even surprised me a free beer coupon. You can get a free Guinness in the hostel Bar just nearby. I am not a alcohol lover but I was happy to try my first Guinness in Dublin since it was famous here. The only problem is that only one key for each room, not everyone got a key. Overall it is awesome! The location is easy to find and near the temple bar and other attractions and train station.
  • 91%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »