See other Dublin properties

Oliver St. John Gogarty

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 78% from 38 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The gogartys was.. well an experiance. The staff is nice and the hostel is located in temple bar... so far so good. But we stayed in the 12 bed dorm and we had to share one key... the bathrom was not really clean and there was no way to get some fresh air into the room. But after all you can stay there for sleeping.
  • 66%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • It was a lovely place, with a great location. The were only a few problems I found. 1. The noise, not surprising since the hostel is in a very popular bar district and it was nice to listen to local artists out my window, it just got a bit distracting if you were trying to sleep. 2. The key system in this hostel was the strangest I've ever encountered. I've never been in a hostel where a room of 12 beds and there is only 1 key to share with the entire room.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Only one key for the room that we have to share with the other persons in the room. The problem is that we don't know each other so it's not useful
  • 77%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Florian France
  • Great location and atmosphere!
  • 86%
  • 20 May 2014 Emma Australia
  • I can't comment this hostel. Because I arrived here at 1:30 AM. I just check-in and slept, left early : because my transportation schedule. It's just... average, I think. when I felt at that time.
  • 77%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The thing that I disliked most about staying here was the lack of room security. We were asked to leave out room key at the front desk, and were given slips of paper to use to get our key (to verify we were staying in that room). However, we were never once asked for our slips of paper-we asked for our key and they handed it right over. We even got someone else's key once. It would be very easy for someone to get your key and access your room. It was also VERY noisy from about 3pm - 2:30am.
  • 60%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Sarah USA
  • This is a pretty bare bones Hostel. The location is fabulous but the WIFI and showers were pitiful.
  • 69%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had an incredible time staying there on St. Patricks Day. The staff was very extremely helpful and nice in answering the hoards of tourist questions they must get regularly. If I return to Dublin there will be no doubt in my mind that I will be staying there again.
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Bartholomew USA
  • The Gogarty's Hostel is in the middle of Temple Bar, the region where the most popular pubs are located, right above a very popular pub/restaurant. But too loud, with bad shower and no only 2 plugs for a bedroom with 12 beds, what was definitivery bad.
  • 69%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Vanessa Brazil
  • Very good Location in the Center of Temple Bar. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room has a very high Standard. A Problem is that you only get one key per room. I was on my room with five other guys I didn't know. I was the first one who went to bed. All night Long somebody of them came back to the room and because I was the only one with a key I had to get up everytime and open the door for them.
  • 86%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Max Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »