See other Dublin properties

Oliver St. John Gogarty

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 83% from 41 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The thing that I disliked most about staying here was the lack of room security. We were asked to leave out room key at the front desk, and were given slips of paper to use to get our key (to verify we were staying in that room). However, we were never once asked for our slips of paper-we asked for our key and they handed it right over. We even got someone else's key once. It would be very easy for someone to get your key and access your room. It was also VERY noisy from about 3pm - 2:30am.
  • 60%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Sarah USA
  • This is a pretty bare bones Hostel. The location is fabulous but the WIFI and showers were pitiful.
  • 69%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had an incredible time staying there on St. Patricks Day. The staff was very extremely helpful and nice in answering the hoards of tourist questions they must get regularly. If I return to Dublin there will be no doubt in my mind that I will be staying there again.
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Bartholomew USA
  • The Gogarty's Hostel is in the middle of Temple Bar, the region where the most popular pubs are located, right above a very popular pub/restaurant. But too loud, with bad shower and no only 2 plugs for a bedroom with 12 beds, what was definitivery bad.
  • 69%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Vanessa Brazil
  • Very good Location in the Center of Temple Bar. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room has a very high Standard. A Problem is that you only get one key per room. I was on my room with five other guys I didn't know. I was the first one who went to bed. All night Long somebody of them came back to the room and because I was the only one with a key I had to get up everytime and open the door for them.
  • 86%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Max Germany
  • Having one key for a 12-bed dorm was extremely concerning, cleanliness in the room was substandard. Sorry, won't be back.
  • 43%
  • 21 Jan 2014 Kylie Australia
  • The room was packed with good energy, but they others seemed to live there and weren't very welcoming. But, they were after a bit. Great stay
  • 89%
  • 30 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It was loud, the music was nonstop and there were constantly people around... but that's what we loved about Gogarty! In Dublin, you're not looking for a quite, relaxing time -- you're looking to let your hair down get wild, have some good drinks with good friends while listening to good music and that's exactly what Gogarty let us do! Location is great, atmosphere AMAZING. It was a little cold and drafty in the hostel at times, and more cold water than hot, but overall a great time
  • 89%
  • 23 Nov 2013 Jessica USA
  • It has the most amazing location in all dublin, just right in the center of temple bar and in a walking distance to almost all the seightseens of dublin. But you have to be prepared to some noise, the hostel is located above a bar, so it is really noisy until 3 am every day.
  • 83%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had booked a private room for myself and I did notice that one morning someone put their key in my door and it appeared to work. However, the deadbolt was on so they weren't able to get in. A little bit unsettling. However, overall I had a great stay and found the staff and location itself EXCELLENT! Would def recommend to other and consider staying there again if I go back to Dublin :)
  • 94%
  • 07 Nov 2013 Amy Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »