See other Dublin properties

Oliver St. John Gogarty

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 78% from 41 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • staff were very kind and helpful, especially when we needed to print off our boarding passes and they even called a taxi for us, thanks gogartys!
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2014 clare Ireland
  • The one key per room system is annoying and disruptive if you want to try to get any sleep at all. Our bathroom was also not cleaned for two days.
  • 51%
  • 02 Sep 2014 allison USA
  • Great hostel. Great breakfast. I've stayed here a few times but the room I had did not have any storage areas to lock up my belongings so everything you bring is out in the open/on your bed.
  • 74%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Larry USA
  • Great breakfast. Bring your earplugs lol.
  • 71%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Larry USA
  • Très bien situé (dans la rue la plus animée de Dublin), chambre propre, staff sympa // Very well located (in Dublin's liveliest street), clean room, friendly staff.
  • 83%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Dounia France
  • The gogartys was.. well an experiance. The staff is nice and the hostel is located in temple bar... so far so good. But we stayed in the 12 bed dorm and we had to share one key... the bathrom was not really clean and there was no way to get some fresh air into the room. But after all you can stay there for sleeping.
  • 66%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The hostel bar is great, the location is perfect, and the staff is friendly. The only complaint I have is the noise. If you aren't okay with a party hostel that is loud 24/7 then don't stay here. I would come back and stay though!
  • 77%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was a lovely place, with a great location. The were only a few problems I found. 1. The noise, not surprising since the hostel is in a very popular bar district and it was nice to listen to local artists out my window, it just got a bit distracting if you were trying to sleep. 2. The key system in this hostel was the strangest I've ever encountered. I've never been in a hostel where a room of 12 beds and there is only 1 key to share with the entire room.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Only one key for the room that we have to share with the other persons in the room. The problem is that we don't know each other so it's not useful
  • 77%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Florian France
  • Great location and atmosphere!
  • 86%
  • 20 May 2014 Emma Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »