See other San Francisco properties

Orange Village Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 37 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bed and room were really clean, and house keeper was very nice. I felt like that I was at home.
  • 83%
  • 05 Sep 2015 Jieun South Korea
  • Great facilities (laundry, kitchen etc) and very helpful local restaurant recommendations which were well-used and much appreciated. The TV, microwave and fridge in the room were very unexpected, but gladly used and appreciated. I thought the room was rather dark with only one overhead light - additional lights by each bed would have been very useful, as well as additional plug sockets. Would have preferred a duvet to a blanket.
  • 80%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Alexandra England
  • Very good staff. Very attentive!
  • 86%
  • 29 Aug 2015 davina Argentina
  • Orange Hostel was a friendly place. Staff was able to accommodate my communication needs by allowing the use of a calling card on a cordless phone. When a repair was necessary, it was performed in a timely manner. One observation might be that, although the staff did not offer bicycle storage, I noted bicycles stored in the common rooms on the upper floors. Because my bicycle was locked up a few blocks away in a "safer" part of town, it was stolen 7/31/15.
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Robert USA
  • Good location. Okey rooms. The shared bathrooms showers was so bad. Nice activites and straff. Breakfust was nice and better than most hostels.
  • 60%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Amy Sweden
  • The location is in the semi dodgy area of town so be aware of the level of homeless people lurking around. Other than that the hostel staff were really nice and the breakfast was more than sufficient. The bathroom and rooms were clean and tidy as well. Only down side was the shower being really small.
  • 71%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Hostel was top class! Great atmosphere and really helpful staff. Jenny's organisation of the superhero night with free pizza was the cherry on the cake! Thanks a million
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Alfie Scotland
  • Some of the best staff in San Francisco! So friendly and sociable, great social events, great breakfast option and great times at Orange Village!
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Vincent New Zealand
  • My flight was delayed til the next morning and there was nothing they could do to cancel my reservation without charging me. Yes, I understand there is a 48 hour notice but seriously, at a hostel?! When my friend showed up to get some of our money's worth fr the room, take a shower and nap that day, they would not allow him, saying it had been completely cancelled. Even though I was still paying for the space... This place is also in the Tenderloin, really sketchy neighborhood.
  • 29%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • cockroaches in the room; broken window, cannot shut down the window to escape from the noise on the street; old elevator; kitchen is in renovation, cannot cook yourself.
  • 54%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »