See other San Francisco properties

Orange Village Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 43 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel was in a convenient location although the neighborhood was rough. The hostel had everything from good breakfast to lockers in the room but the dorms were bare bones. Not a good place to hang out if you wanted peace and quiet. Common area was the only place. Rooms for sleeping only
  • 80%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • While the Hostel itself is very safe, there are lots of homeless people on the street around that area.I would not walk around at night by myself.
  • 83%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anne Germany
  • Good location but that is about all it has going for it. The dorm rooms are small, have one power outlet that is hidden behind someone's bunk so you have to climb over them to plug anything in. The toilets don't have any hand washing facilities, you have to go all the way back to your room to wash. This is very unsanitary. Rooms facing the street are horrible to sleep in, the noise from the street is very loud even with the window closed. This was definitely the worst hostel I've stayed in.
  • 40%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Elise Australia
  • It was my first time staying in the hostel and it was above and beyond what I expected. The staff was friendly and answered all my questions, had good recommendations for things to do in San Francisco, the room and bathroom were clean & well maintained. The only complaints: the room was a tad warm at times, nothing a fan wouldn't take care of & you had to be patient in the mornings in the kitchen area because most of the time there were too few tables for the amount of people there.
  • 89%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • The hostel is perfectly suitable and good value for money. Although the location is good and it's close to everything, it is spoiled by the vast amount if homeless and beggers which can be extremely intimidating at night time as they hang out in large groups on each corner. Wouldn't advise if you are a nervous traveller or a lone woman
  • 74%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Belinda
  • Room too hot (no AC, just a poor fan) and double bed too small for a couple
  • 63%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Renata
  • Great location. Many bars and restaurants nearby and walking distance to union square.
  • 83%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Emelie Sweden
  • Staff on reception were very helpful with advice and info on more than one occasion.
  • 89%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Daniel England
  • Overall good experience. I would recommend trying to work something out in terms of bike storage for guests who may have a bicycle with them. Carrying mine up five flights of stairs wasn't too fun. But I survived.
  • 71%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean, great location
  • 77%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Colm Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »