See other San Francisco properties

Orange Village Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 28 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We loved the place! Great location for the price. The building had great character and was clean. Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. I'd stay again and recommend it low maintenance travelers who like to be in the middle of the action.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2014 mark USA
  • Really nice locatiom. The hostel is average. Don't expect much. Only good to sleep. The breakfast is a plus... But nothing special. If you are confortable to stay in hostel without any luxury. I surely recomend this one.
  • 69%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Clean, professionally run, mostly quiet hostel. If you're looking for people to party with, this is probably not the place. But if you want a decent, comfortable place to stay, with all the basic amenities, I would recommend it. Feels more like a small hotel than a hostel.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Please wash the curtains!
  • 80%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Lisa
  • Orange Village is the best hostel I have found in San Francisco. I will definitely stay there again whenever I am in San Francisco
  • 97%
  • 23 Nov 2013 Tomas Australia
  • Clean. Good wi-fi and efficent staff. Laundry room a plus.
  • 69%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Santiago Argentina
  • We´ve stayd there for two days. it seems like it used to be a hotel someday. the room was ok. there was dirt on our sheets. the bathroom with toilet and shower was seperate the sink was in your room. it doesnt feel very cozy... the hotelfeeling kills ....but the people who work there are really nice!
  • 54%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Nicole Amber Germany
  • This is my 2nd time staying here. Room was clean, well stocked, bunk bed was comfy and there was warm water for the showers. Can't complain. A bit hot in the rooms though and the heater wouldn't shut off. Still wished there was a table and chair in the room (sigh). Cable car and busses were nearby and staff was nice and helpful with directions. Didn't have breakfast here but heard it was decent. You get what you payed for and that's the basics in a room. Would definitely stay here a 3rd time.
  • 80%
  • 29 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It's an excellent hostel for who wants a place to stay. No interaction between the guests, just if you really talk. I say that because I've been to hostels with parties and other ways to know new people. It`s really organized, clean and well located. The area has a lot of homeless, but it wasn't a problem for me. I'd stay there again.
  • 80%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Pro: Great, central location and comp. breakfast. Con: This place has skewed priorities. I payed a little extra to stay in a single occupant room so I at least expected a clean and comfortable bed. I got neither. The bedding had disgusting stains and, quite frankly, the staff must not have put on new sheets before I checked in because I found hairs between the sheets. Seriously? Yes, please make sure my room has a TV with cable, but don't take trouble yourself with clean sheets. What a waste.
  • 57%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Teresa USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »