See other San Francisco properties

Orange Village Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 40 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was my first time staying in the hostel and it was above and beyond what I expected. The staff was friendly and answered all my questions, had good recommendations for things to do in San Francisco, the room and bathroom were clean & well maintained. The only complaints: the room was a tad warm at times, nothing a fan wouldn't take care of & you had to be patient in the mornings in the kitchen area because most of the time there were too few tables for the amount of people there.
  • 89%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • The hostel is perfectly suitable and good value for money. Although the location is good and it's close to everything, it is spoiled by the vast amount if homeless and beggers which can be extremely intimidating at night time as they hang out in large groups on each corner. Wouldn't advise if you are a nervous traveller or a lone woman
  • 74%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Belinda
  • Room too hot (no AC, just a poor fan) and double bed too small for a couple
  • 63%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Renata
  • Great location. Many bars and restaurants nearby and walking distance to union square.
  • 83%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Emelie Sweden
  • Staff on reception were very helpful with advice and info on more than one occasion.
  • 89%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Daniel England
  • Overall good experience. I would recommend trying to work something out in terms of bike storage for guests who may have a bicycle with them. Carrying mine up five flights of stairs wasn't too fun. But I survived.
  • 71%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean, great location
  • 77%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Colm Ireland
  • No hostel atmosphere. Room was very clean and great hostelroom (private). With focet, fridge, microwave. Clean towels every day. Bathrooms pretty clean and many bedrooms. Location is great,downtown.
  • 77%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The guy behind the counter who first greeted me was not nice, he was not accommodating but the girls in the morning were very pleasant. Value for the money is not good, the breakfast offered was brown bananas and waffles, there was no space to sit.
  • 57%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Josephine USA
  • Great location and breakfast. The only thing I did not like very much was the room locker, which is does not have a smooth floor and scratched my bag.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »