See other San Francisco properties

Orange Village Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 73% from 40 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location. Okey rooms. The shared bathrooms showers was so bad. Nice activites and straff. Breakfust was nice and better than most hostels.
  • 60%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Amy Sweden
  • The location is in the semi dodgy area of town so be aware of the level of homeless people lurking around. Other than that the hostel staff were really nice and the breakfast was more than sufficient. The bathroom and rooms were clean and tidy as well. Only down side was the shower being really small.
  • 71%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Hostel was top class! Great atmosphere and really helpful staff. Jenny's organisation of the superhero night with free pizza was the cherry on the cake! Thanks a million
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Alfie Scotland
  • Some of the best staff in San Francisco! So friendly and sociable, great social events, great breakfast option and great times at Orange Village!
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Vincent New Zealand
  • My flight was delayed til the next morning and there was nothing they could do to cancel my reservation without charging me. Yes, I understand there is a 48 hour notice but seriously, at a hostel?! When my friend showed up to get some of our money's worth fr the room, take a shower and nap that day, they would not allow him, saying it had been completely cancelled. Even though I was still paying for the space... This place is also in the Tenderloin, really sketchy neighborhood.
  • 29%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • cockroaches in the room; broken window, cannot shut down the window to escape from the noise on the street; old elevator; kitchen is in renovation, cannot cook yourself.
  • 54%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • Don't expect too much, the kitchen is too small for the whole crowd of people especially when it comes to breakfast. Breakfast is okay,but kitchen is old and not neat nor clean. Bring your own sheets if possible, they don't provide enough. But nevertheless the pub crawl on Wednesdays is nice and the staff as well. Thursdays they provide free pizza for dinner.
  • 54%
  • 16 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The neighborhood does not feel very safe, there are lots of homeless people. The sheets and the towels were not always clean. The beds were good. Free waffles, coffee (not the best) and orange juice for breakfast.
  • 71%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • This hostel was in a convenient location although the neighborhood was rough. The hostel had everything from good breakfast to lockers in the room but the dorms were bare bones. Not a good place to hang out if you wanted peace and quiet. Common area was the only place. Rooms for sleeping only
  • 80%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • While the Hostel itself is very safe, there are lots of homeless people on the street around that area.I would not walk around at night by myself.
  • 83%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anne Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »