See other Istanbul properties

Orient Hostel

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 88% from 13 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was excellent! We booked a tour through TripAdvisor and upon arrival the hostel had our confirmation waiting for us and they communicated when they would be picking us up the next morning. They offered airport shuttles for only 12 Lira. Our room was cold and they checked out heater and provided us with extra blankets. This hostel has a great location and was very easy to find. The staff gave us a lot of helpful information about the city, I would stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Valarie USA
  • Very friendly place, with the pub just outside the reception, so we could have a great night and just go to our rooms. Free internet and great breakfast. Just the bathrooms are not so comfortable and it's hard to take a shower and get dressed as you need to take care of your things bt no place to hang them. But it's a 10 min walk to all main attractions of the Old City. Great place!
  • 77%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Juliana Brazil
  • Pay attention to the tap water - it's always cold :)
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Bed Bugs. Several Hostelers woke itching. Reported it to staff and they sprayed poison on the mattresses! Some hostelers moved to a new dorm with their gear- likely carrying the bed bugs to the other dorms. The staff is helpful with travel needs. Breakfast is generous but no fresh fruit the week I was there. It is ok facility but--LOUD. I asked them to turn down the very loud rock and roll music the staff said the business man owner insist it blasts until 2am b/c they sell more beer!
  • 66%
  • 10 Sep 2014 catherine USA
  • I had a great stay. The staff was great, the food was so good. It was easy to make friends. The location was great and the terrace had a beautiful view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia as well as the sea. The only problem was a couple of guest were rude walking in around 4 in the morning being obnoxious, but as soon as they fell asleep all was peaceful.
  • 97%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Orient Hostel is a homely place with welcoming, helpful staff, right on the doorstep of Sultanahmet's major sights. Has a lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast and lively outside area for drinks / food, it gets very busy at night, which is great if you're travelling alone. Would likely stay again if I was passing through Istanbul in the future.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • The best hostel I have ever stayed in Turkey. Staff was awesome and let me check in earlier. Staff was very helpful and would take care of you with any problems you have the locals.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2014 JOE ANTHONY USA
  • Thanks for a good staying. The staff is very good and they do not nag on everybody to comeback in to their restaurant. In this area of Istanbul a non nagging staff shows good quality. The out door bar is nice and the toilets are clean. The breakfast could be better. Recommend this place
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Rolf
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »