See other Istanbul properties

Orient Hostel

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 91% from 12 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a great stay. The staff was great, the food was so good. It was easy to make friends. The location was great and the terrace had a beautiful view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia as well as the sea. The only problem was a couple of guest were rude walking in around 4 in the morning being obnoxious, but as soon as they fell asleep all was peaceful.
  • 97%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Orient Hostel is a homely place with welcoming, helpful staff, right on the doorstep of Sultanahmet's major sights. Has a lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast and lively outside area for drinks / food, it gets very busy at night, which is great if you're travelling alone. Would likely stay again if I was passing through Istanbul in the future.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • The best hostel I have ever stayed in Turkey. Staff was awesome and let me check in earlier. Staff was very helpful and would take care of you with any problems you have the locals.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2014 JOE ANTHONY USA
  • Thanks for a good staying. The staff is very good and they do not nag on everybody to comeback in to their restaurant. In this area of Istanbul a non nagging staff shows good quality. The out door bar is nice and the toilets are clean. The breakfast could be better. Recommend this place
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Rolf
  • Friendly staff who readily upgraded our room to one of the best options available. Really thankful for that! There is also a rather good locker system to ensure that your belongings are safeguarded. Good that precaution is taken!
  • 86%
  • 24 Apr 2014 Qun Di Charissa Singapore
  • This was my second stay at Orient and I had such a blast that I will have to go a third time very soon! All the staff were awesome and so friendly, especially my new friends Burak, Harun, Hassan, Bilo (aka Pillow), and Sadi. I have not had a hostel experience as good as at Orient. They may not have all the bells and whistles like the big chains, but they have more character and atmosphere for sure. This hostel is best enjoyed by hanging out in the cafe or bar and having fun with the staff and ne
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I found Orient Hostel the most affordable and located in a strategic position close to all the historical highlights of the city such as blue mosque hayasofia and the old city.
  • 100%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Chidi Canada
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful concerning all questions. Due to my flight leaving at night I could leave my luggage there all day and even have a shower before heading to the airport. Nice Turkish breakfast and nice view from the roof terrace.
  • 77%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »