See other Venice properties

Ostello S. Fosca

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 76% from 30 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's summer in Venice and there's no AC in the room and it's so hot and when you open the windows, the mosquitoes attack you right away. I had so many mosquito bites. The floors are dirty and the building has not seen renovation in ages except for the security measures (locks). The kitchen has no fridge.
  • 51%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • My partner and I didn't mind out stay in this hostel. We had a VERy hard time finding it, as it is quite hidden with no signs but the room was clean and the beds were confortable. We shared with two other people and it was a nice experience. The common areas were equipped with TV/Video Game and there was a nice patio area. The bath was large, with seperate toilet which helps in a dorm. Staff was very nice and approachable.
  • 80%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous England
  • When I arrived at the hostel at 1pm I had a surprise: the reception is opened from 9am to 11am and then from 3pm to 5pm. They don't even let me put my stuffs inside, while I wait for the opening of the reception. The bedroom has mold, a lot of unpleasant insects, the bed is weird, and the bedsheet is disgusting. We have to leave the bedroom at 9:30am so it was clean. It'd be fine if it was really cleaned, but it wasn't. I don't recommend this hostel, not even for the price nor the location.
  • 37%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Mayara Brazil
  • The hostel was a bit removed from the bustle of the street which was very nice! It had a nice and quiet atmosphere. The wifi did not work exceptionally well inside our room so we had to step outside when we wanted to use it, but it worked well otherwise! Friendly staff---wish there was a luggage room though instead of having to leave it sitting in the common room! LOVED staying in the hostel that was right on the island! It eliminated time and money for commute each time.
  • 83%
  • 18 May 2015 Claire USA
  • I would recommend going to Venice, and this was a great hostel. Good location close to a good night life: pubs, pizza places, downtown and train station. Our room had 4 beds i(not bunk beds) in our room, two shared bathrooms for the floor one with a toilet, bidet, and sink, the other with a toilet, bidet, sink and shower. There were lockers available in the room. (My padlock worked on them.)
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostels accommodations itself weren't bad. The service was terrible. Though I think it was out of the employees control, I arrived and was told That my brother and I wouldn't be able to stay in the same room. We had booked together but the employee simply said it was impossible that we could stay together. I asked who would Be sleeping in the room with me and she told me a couple and a single man. I woke up to find three men sleeping in this sma room with me. If I had wanted to sleep alone
  • 49%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Rebecca USA
  • I had never wi-fi in the room. They said it was a technical problem but never fixed it
  • 80%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Despite being few in number, my experiences with hostels have been very negative. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Ostello S. Fosca. The staff was incredibly friendly and the facilities were actually clean (two things that you will not come across very often in hostels). I do not recommend that anyone stays at a hostel. But if you must, you should stay at Ostello S. Fosca. You will not find a better hostel.
  • 80%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent stay overall! The neighborhood was amazing and very central to all the major attractions, but just one side-street off from the main road as to be very quiet and peaceful there. The value, especially with the location, was great. Would definitely recommend.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Emily USA
  • Good hostel for vacation with easy reaching location (of course if smart as in Venice all is difficult to get....)
  • 77%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Natalya Armenia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »