See other Ottawa properties

Ottawa Backpackers Inn

203 York Street, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 80% from 32 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • washrooms were clean but the stairs, entrance and lounge needed more routine vacuuming. also think you should not have a cat due to people with allergies.
  • 74%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Elizabeth Canada
  • Spotty wifi connectivity and wasnt really sure if the sheets on my bed were clean or not since I generally am used to finding the beds unmade. Kitchen was well stocked and would have been very useful for a longer stay.
  • 86%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • What a fantastic place to stay, whether you're a student waiting for housing or a backpacker trekking hrough town! The staff are outgoing and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and kept clean, and the chance to meet internationals every evening is something you should not pass up. I miss you already, OBI. I will be back!
  • 94%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • It's placed in a good place. Everything is near from there. Facilities could improme a bit. Sofas were broken and dirty.
  • 63%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I really liked the place, its very cozy! Even staying at a 10 bedroom dorm, I found my little spot super comfortable. The living area is pretty open so it's easy to socialize. The location is perfect, close to all the city attractions, the only time I had to take a bus was to get to the train station. I also met some lovely people over there ;)
  • 83%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • This place is the dirtiest place I ever stayed sofar. I have seen almost all countries in Asia but this hostel is a laugh. Location good. That's the only good part. No aircon.... The summer kills you at night especially if your in a top bunk bed. it's like your in an oven. instead of cleaning things. Staff is hanging on the couch (which is so dirty I never sat on it). Wake up guys!! Refurbish this property!!! Get yourself a bucket of water some soap and clean the place!! ITS DIRTY!!!!
  • 37%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Nice place to staff, just a little disorganized. The staff were very friendly but it took quite a while for them to get organized to check us in. Not many showers but that wasn't a problem for us. Very close to the main streets which is convenient.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • It my second time at the hostel. The location is very good !!!
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Annie
  • Met some new friends, saw the best of Ottawa, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Would highly recommend!
  • 97%
  • 08 Jun 2014 James USA
  • The most friendly place I have stayed felt like I was at home, sociable common room. Close to everything you would want to see, great place to meet people if you are travelling alone!
  • 94%
  • 03 May 2014 Francesca
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »