See other Ottawa properties

Ottawa Backpackers Inn

203 York Street, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 79% from 25 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is the dirtiest place I ever stayed sofar. I have seen almost all countries in Asia but this hostel is a laugh. Location good. That's the only good part. No aircon.... The summer kills you at night especially if your in a top bunk bed. it's like your in an oven. instead of cleaning things. Staff is hanging on the couch (which is so dirty I never sat on it). Wake up guys!! Refurbish this property!!! Get yourself a bucket of water some soap and clean the place!! ITS DIRTY!!!!
  • 37%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Nice place to staff, just a little disorganized. The staff were very friendly but it took quite a while for them to get organized to check us in. Not many showers but that wasn't a problem for us. Very close to the main streets which is convenient.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • It my second time at the hostel. The location is very good !!!
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Annie
  • Met some new friends, saw the best of Ottawa, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Would highly recommend!
  • 97%
  • 08 Jun 2014 James USA
  • The most friendly place I have stayed felt like I was at home, sociable common room. Close to everything you would want to see, great place to meet people if you are travelling alone!
  • 94%
  • 03 May 2014 Francesca
  • I had a very nice stay in that Hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Katrin Austria
  • When I was in the Hostel, there weren't too many guests, but the staff was really nice and we've chatted a lot. Maybe the fact that there weren't too many guests explains, why I had the feeling the room wasn't always perfectly clean, but nothing you'd have to worry about. My bed wasn't too great, I have had better beds for the same price, but it wasn't too bad! The location is great, it's just like 10 minutes walk to the Parliament and downtown and nice cafés and restaurants around.
  • 86%
  • 16 Feb 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location, close to the majority of tourist places. Friendly staff. Unfortunately no breakfast. Good values.
  • 83%
  • 23 Dec 2013 BARBARA Brazil
  • Good location and decent sized room but the bed was extremely uncomfortable.
  • 69%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Nina Australia
  • I came for 2 day from Toronto, and I spend nice time in the hostel. The stuff were friendly and gave useful information. The privet room was too small and it was clean. no towel . The atmosphere was nice, The W.C. were public but it didn't cause any problem. It was close to the center, good location.
  • 71%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Ayelet Israel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »